Few Questions: Items and Monks

By JTI, in Talisman Rules Questions

1) The potion cards (Fate, Power, Wisdom..) state that you can drink them at once, so I guess taht they can also be kept. Since in this way they'd count in the number of items that a character can carry, in our group we decided taht even if you want to drink immediately a potion just found you must have a "free slot" (forgive my engligh) in the inventory. Are we right?

2) What about the Gold Bags? We think that you can always pick them since thay state "Discard immediately.." (well in italian "Scarta subito" so I guessed the adverb)

3) The Monk can add his initial craft (3) to his streght during fights, or his craft modified by followers, items, signals (I mean the blue cones)? And what about Psionic Blast and War Horse?

JTI said:

1) The potion cards (Fate, Power, Wisdom..) state that you can drink them at once, so I guess taht they can also be kept. Since in this way they'd count in the number of items that a character can carry, in our group we decided taht even if you want to drink immediately a potion just found you must have a "free slot" (forgive my engligh) in the inventory. Are we right?

2) What about the Gold Bags? We think that you can always pick them since thay state "Discard immediately.." (well in italian "Scarta subito" so I guessed the adverb)

3) The Monk can add his initial craft (3) to his streght during fights, or his craft modified by followers, items, signals (I mean the blue cones)? And what about Psionic Blast and War Horse?

#1: Yes, you still need them in your inventory (of 4 initial slots) to use them.

#2: Gold doesn't count as Object for carrying limit. It's just Object on the card so it gets the proper encounter number IMO.

#3: Craft value = starting craft. Monk will add +3 in battle, even if he has 20 Craft. Brainwave from Frostmarch allows you to double your craft value for a turn, it can boost those abilities you mention.

we play it that if it refers to your craft, its your total craft, same fro strength, so brainwave double your craft value if total craft is 10, the total craft is 20, same for strength, psychic blast, warhorse and the like. but only his total craft/strenght, not from items,objects or followers

reasoning, the player is no longer at the level when created, but has experienced and grown with development so the troll that has increase his craft to 5 that suddenly has a brainwave would now have a craft of 10 not 7

Goodie, I was just searching for answers about how to handle the Monk and Psionic blast.
According to the basic rules: "A character's Craft at any time is the character's Craft value, plus Craft counters, plus any Craft gained from Followers, Magic Objects, and Objects that may be used at that time."

Thus it sound like a monk with strength 2 and craft 5 (3 from beginning and 2 extra cones) and a +1 craft object would have a Battle score of 2+5+1= 8.

Where is it written that it's only the basic craft (3) that are added to his strength in battle?
And if so, how does one know when only basic craft(or strength) is used, and when to add cones and objects/followers when it only say Craft/Strength? Like at the portal of power and inner region?

Draii said:

Where is it written that it's only the basic craft (3) that are added to his strength in battle?

On the Monk's character sheet. It says, "add the CRAFT VALUE". Value is the magic word. Check the rulebook.

Draii said:


And if so, how does one know when only basic craft(or strength) is used, and when to add cones and objects/followers when it only say Craft/Strength? Like at the portal of power and inner region?

Unless a check asks explicitly to use craft (or strength) value , use base value + cones + bonuses (excluding those that apply to "in combat" situation, i.e. weapons)

Ah, totally missed the "value"-part.

Now I get it! Thanks alot =)