I've seen conflicting opinions concerning Mt. Doom on the Mordor track and the ring-bearer. So, does the actual ring bearer need to be the one to put the activity marker on the last space of the fellowship track on the Mordor Conflict board, rolling the threat die, and placing the ring (if surviving the threat die)? I have the Anniversary edition, if that makes any difference.
Rules from the Rule Book:
In order to successfully destroy the Ring, the Ring-bearer must reach the end of the main Activity Track on the Mordor Conflict Game Board...If the consequences of the Threat die roll do not eliminate the Ring-bearer from the game, the Conflict ends and the Ring is placed on the Ring depicted on the Mordor Conflict Game Board.
Edited by Ruskicowboy