Zam Wessell Conditions

By TheRealDruid, in X-Wing Rules Questions

One question about the Zam Wessell Pilot conditions:

You Should Thank Me
This condition is assigned facedown. Reveal it after you defend.
After you defend you, Zam Wesell recovers 1 . Then, you may acquire a lock on the attacker.
At the end of the Engagement Phase, if this card is facedown and you are in an enemy ship's firing arc, you may reveal this card and spend 2 from Zam Wesell . If you do, you may perform a bonus attack.
At the start of the System Phase, remove this condition.

If i get shot aka defend, i flip the card, resolve the text: recover 1 charge, then TL the attacker.

What if i get shot again by another attacker ? The condition still applies, because it only get's removed at the Start of the System phase. So does the "After you defend ..." still apply ?

Rules Reference page 8 states:

Condition cards are cards assigned by ship and upgrade cards that represent persistent game effects. A condition card is not in play until a game effect assigns it to a ship. When a condition card is assigned, its text resolves

Persistent gameeffect means, that it is always in play. Last sentence means it resolves *only* ? when the card is assigned ? but that's not persistent.

Rattled and decoyed also stay active.

What is the correct interpretation ?

Edited by TheRealDruid

swz82_a1_zam-wessel.png
swz82_a1_thank-me.png swz82_a1_mean-business.png

yeah, wow. zam will certainly boggle a lot of minds and raise the threshold of entry into the game considerably. i dare say she's quite complicated. so she has two conditions. you may assign one of them to yourself during the system phase facedown. the conditions are revealed after you defend, but they stay assigned to you until the start of the next system phase. now that's out of the way! ^_^

"after you defend" is during the aftermath of an attack that was performed with you as the defender ("you" always meaning the ship itself, Zam Wesell). please note that this can happen from snap shot, foresight, captain jostero or other sources of attacks that can occur outside of the engagement phase.

if you get shot again after the condition card is revealed, it's still active, yes (it stays with you until the start of the systems phase). please note that you can only perform one bonus attack per round, but you can choose not to perform the bonus attack from "you'd better mean business" when it's revealed if you're expecting an attack from another ship that you'd rather perform your bonus attack versus later on. this is because the effect says "you may spend 2 [...]".

some condition cards have abilities that resolve when they are assigned (i'll show you the dark side). in the case of zam, her two condition cards have several abilities with different timings ("after you defend", "at the end of the engagement phase", "at the start of the system phase"). the abilities will be resolved at those timings - and not when the condition cards are assigned.

Edited by meffo

Thynk you very much meffo, was unsure about this and played my first game wrong. But now, the enemy shall fear Zam.