object and event questions

By The Thing In The Attic, in Talisman Rules Questions

Higland and dungeon expansions came this Saturday, been having a blast with Talisman all weekend.

so as you'd naturally expect I have some burning questions.

Objects

The object limit is 4, but i'm not sure what happens when you find more objects on a space when your object limit is reached.

for example if you reveal an Elixer card and want to drink it straight away do you have to ditch one of your four objects first, or are you allowed to drink it and discard it without ever having to carry it? Same question regarding gold, (although those cards do say immediately discard for gold and i have been playing them that way)

Spells

The spell limit of a character is defined by his/her/it's craft, but i'm not sure what to do when a character has his full complement of spells and he encounters the key phrases 'gain 1 spell' or 'gain x spell(s) if your craft allows'.

Does gain 1 spell allow you to gain a spell even if you are holding the max number of spells, and then discard one so that you are within your spell limit again?

Does 'gain x spell(s) if your craft allows' prevent you from gaining spells if you already have the max number of spells, or can you still draw new spells and then choose which ones to keep and discard the rest back down to your spell limit?

Events

What happens to Events that don't state that they will remain in the space or go to the Discard Pile? (example 'Sliding Walls' from Dungeon)

Thanks

I leave sliding walls on the square it is revealed upon.

I never allow someone to gain a spell if they are at max. I do not allow them to cast one quickly to gain that spell either. If you are at max spells, that's it.

If you land on objects, I allow using something you have, before you take any objects. But not using objects that are on the square. Gold is instantly gold as soon as it is drawn, it is never an object in my games.

These are my takes on those situations, and not official in any way.

I see the objects differently, the way I see it your object limit is the limit of objects you can have with you as you move around. So when you land on a square with objects, you pick them all up and then discard down to your limit

i've re-read the rule book, and I think it covers my earlier spell question fairly well.

You can't gain another spell if you are already carrying (mentally) your full spell compliment, and the only way to get rid of spells is to either cast them or discard them if you have more than your craft allows, and that can only happen if your craft is reduced by some means such as the Cursed Glade.

I love the two board expansions and what they add to the game, (I bought the two smaller expansions last month), my only complaint is this:

the size of the miniatures in Dungeon and Highland expasions is off scale, even more so in Highland; they're tiny, and flimsy; the upraised hand on the Gypsy figure (from the Dungeon expansion) has snapped off after my first game using her, and I wasn't being heavy handed with her at all.

About items: the golden rule is that you can NEVER HAVE more items than your limit, not even if you want to "drink that Face Up potion right away".