1.5 LEAK: Pass tokens and other stuff

By Darth Veggie, in Star Wars: Armada

4 minutes ago, Grumbleduke said:

The new wording on the card is probably a mistake. As worded at the moment, with an "after", the extra sentence has almost no effect on the game (only in situations where a ship would execute 3 maneuvers in a round). It is almost certainly meant to be a "while" - intended to prevent double-ramming with ETs. I suspect it will generally be interpreted that way until we get an official clarification.

You make a maneuver -> did I ram? If yes exhaust it and you can't exhaust itfor another maneuver. There's no other interpretation. Doesn't matter how many maneuvers you do. You can't ram with engine techs.

1 minute ago, Rimsen said:

You make a maneuver -> did I ram? If yes exhaust it and you can't exhaust itfor another maneuver. There's no other interpretation. Doesn't matter how many maneuvers you do. You can't ram with engine techs.

Technically, you can. RAI is clear that you cannot, but without some sort of explanation in an updated RRG, you can choose the order of events when they have the same trigger - so you can activate ET first after your ramming manoeuvre and use it to ram again, then exhaust it twice because you rammed and also used it. Obviously this isn't what is intended. See Karnek's complaints about this on discord!

so a better wording should be underline added by me.

NAV: After you execute a maneuver, you may exhaust this card to execute a speed-1 maneuver.

After you execute a maneuver, if you overlapped a ship, exhaust this card. (Do not resolve it's effect).

From above it looks like exhaust is being used twice if you overlapped a ship which can't happen. this is my quick understanding of it waiting on FFG.

29 minutes ago, Wolf_58 said:

so a better wording should be underline added by me.

NAV: After you execute a maneuver, you may exhaust this card to execute a speed-1 maneuver.

After you execute a maneuver, if you overlapped a ship, exhaust this card. (Do not resolve it's effect).

From above it looks like exhaust is being used twice if you overlapped a ship which can't happen. this is my quick understanding of it waiting on FFG.

That has the same problem, overlapping timing windows so player gets to choose the order.

26 minutes ago, Wolf_58 said:

From above it looks like exhaust is being used twice if you overlapped a ship which can't happen.

At the moment they share the same timing, so the player gets to choose which one to resolve first. So the player gets to the "After you execute a maneuver" stage and can choose to resolve the first effect (exhausting to execute a speed-1 maneuver) and then resolve the second one, which they can't as the card is already exhausted. [Also, remember that ETs is a bit weird in that the trigger for resolving it happens during the maneuver, when you resolve the navigation command.]

Other ways to reword it would be to change the timing, something like:

  • While executing a maneuver, if you overlap a ship exhaust this card.

or even simpler

  • When you overlap a ship exhaust this card.
6 hours ago, Grumbleduke said:

At the moment they share the same timing, so the player gets to choose which one to resolve first. So the player gets to the "After you execute a maneuver" stage and can choose to resolve the first effect (exhausting to execute a speed-1 maneuver) and then resolve the second one, which they can't as the card is already exhausted. [Also, remember that ETs is a bit weird in that the trigger for resolving it happens during the maneuver, when you resolve the navigation command.]

Other ways to reword it would be to change the timing, something like:

  • While executing a maneuver, if you overlap a ship exhaust this card.

or even simpler

  • When you overlap a ship exhaust this card.

Fair enough. In that sense, it seems quite an oversight of a basic rule. I mean it's hard to imagine they didn't think about it.