1.5 LEAK: Pass tokens and other stuff

By Darth Veggie, in Star Wars: Armada

16 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

And Foresight can cancel 4 dice against an Onager 😃

Explain. I thought foresight would bring total to 3. (2 exteme range evade + 1 extra from title). Where am I missing the fourth?

NVM! Just reread new rule.

Edited by SithLrd88

Current base game rules are tabling all ships immediately ends the game. Flotillas aren't special in this case, so having a single GR-75 Transport floating around away from the fight means the game continues.

TOURNAMENT rules change this to having the game continue to the end of the round, and tabling is destroying all non-flotilla ships.

Just now, SithLrd88 said:

Explain. I thought foresight would bring total to 3. (2 exteme range evade + 1 extra from title). Where am I missing the fourth?

from discarding to affect an additional die.

18 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

And Foresight can cancel 4 dice against an Onager 😃

I wonder what Mon Mothma does now?

Wouldn't it be 5?

2 for spending the token at Extreme Range
1 for Title
2 more for discarding the token Large vs Small + Extreme Range?

Nevermind, read it wrong. + 1 die affected for the discard. 4 total.

Edited by BiggsIRL
Just now, BiggsIRL said:

Wouldn't it be 5?

2 for spending the token at Extreme Range
1 for Title
2 more for discarding the token Large vs Small + Extreme Range?

5? Who raises the bid to 6? Soon it is gone...3...2...1

25 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

And Foresight can cancel 4 dice against an Onager 😃

I wonder what Mon Mothma does now?

updating her qualifications, one assumes

If you zoom on page 27 you can also see a new card. There is a title card for the HC named "Beast of Burden".

"Once activated, you may exhaust this card and spend 1 or more of your Defense Markers to select up to as many Defense Markers on friendly ships at distance 1-3 and make those Defense Markers ready to play." (DeepL)

1 hour ago, Darth Veggie said:

Pass tokens:

  • Before ships are DEPLOYED fleet sizes are compared. The player with less ships gets one token per ships less (BUT -1, if he is first player).
  • Instead of activating you can permanently discard a pass token, BUT
    • You cannot do it twice in a row.
    • You cannot do it with your first activation, if you are first player.
    • You cannot spend a pass token if more of your ships are not activated than those of your opponent.

To be pedantic it looks like that last line, while true, isn't quite right. It looks like pass tokens are going to be quite complicated, with different rules for 1st and 2nd player.

First player can use a pass token if they have fewer ships left to activate than the 2nd player.

Second player can use a pass token if they have at most the same number of ships left to activate as the 1st player.

So when it is your turn to activate, you need to go through the checklist of:

  1. if 1st player, have I already activated? Yes. Do they have more ships left than I do? Yes. Did I use a pass token last "activation"? No. I can spend a pass token.
  2. if 2nd player; do I have more ships left to activate than they do? No. Did I use a pass token last "activation"? No. I can spend a pass token.
2 minutes ago, Harrybaldi said:

If you zoom on page 27 you can also see a new card. There is a title card for the HC named "Beast of Burden".

"Once activated, you may exhaust this card and spend 1 or more of your Defense Markers to select up to as many Defense Markers on friendly ships at distance 1-3 and make those Defense Markers ready to play." (DeepL)

Really leaning into that Hardcell support utility. Liking it.

great find btw.

Wrapping my head around the pass tokens is giving my a headache, TO THE KEURIG FOR A 2ND CUP.

17 minutes ago, Madaghmire said:

Really leaning into that Hardcell support utility. Liking it.

Yeah, me too. There is another hint in the picture. Both basic Hardcell ships are equipped with the support card "munitions resuply" and no other cards. This is an indication that this ship generally has an slot for suply cards. I am not sure if this is already known.

1 minute ago, Harrybaldi said:

Yeah, me too. There is another hint in the picture. Both basic Hardcell ships are equipped with the support card "munitions resuply" and no other cards. This is an indication that this ship generally has an slot for suply cards. I am not sure if this is already known.

I think it was but good eye either way.

I wonder if Mothma's evades will reroll two dice at close?

About discarding an Evade token at close range if the attacker is larger - is the word used "spend" or "discard"?

I'm asking because "discard" will let you re-roll a dice with a green Evade and then discard the used Evade to remove another dice, while "spend" will make you choose between re-rolling with a green token or removing a dice with a red defence token.

Edited by Petersaber

I like the additional rule of discarding the evade token, but I wish they wouldn't have added a reroll for close range for normal use.

Realistically (haha, I know right) if you're right next to someone evading any kind of attack is near impossible.

Not to mention the possible changes it would cause to Mon Mothra ingame.

6 minutes ago, Petersaber said:

About discarding an Evade token at close range if the attacker is larger - is the word used "spend" or "discard"?

I'm asking because "discard" will let you re-roll a dice with a green Evade and then discard the used Evade to remove another dice, while "spend" will make you choose between re-rolling with a green token or removing a dice with a red defence token.

It says discard. Quickly translated: "If the attacker is of a larger size, you may affect a second die, but will have to discard the token."

Edited by TheWampa
8 minutes ago, Petersaber said:

About discarding an Evade token at close range if the attacker is larger - is the word used "spend" or "discard"?

I'm asking because "discard" will let you re-roll a dice with a green Evade and then discard the used Evade to remove another dice, while "spend" will make you choose between re-rolling with a green token or removing a dice with a red defence token.

"If it is a long range attack, select an attack dice and negate it. If it is a medium or short range attack (or range 1), select an attack die that must be re-rolled. If the attacker has a larger size category than yours, you can influence an additional dice, but you must discard the marker."

2 minutes ago, TheWampa said:

It says discard. Quickly translated: "If the attacker is of a larger size, you may affect a second die, but will have to discard the token."

oh I was to slow

1 minute ago, Harrybaldi said:

oh I was to slow

I cheated with a short answer and a expanded follow-up edit :)

I would just like to take this moment to thank Asmodee DE for making sure our next Armada article will be the rules article.

1 minute ago, ianediger said:

I would just like to take this moment to thank Asmodee DE for making sure our next Armada article will be the rules article.

And I'm starting to think this is an elaborate scheme to expose all Germans or German-speaking folks lurking in this forum... for whatever reason. :)

3 minutes ago, ianediger said:

I would just like to take this moment to thank Asmodee DE for making sure our next Armada article will be the rules article.

Cruzer still wants his Tri-fighter leak...

tenor.gif

3 minutes ago, Cruzer said:

Cruzer still wants his Tri-fighter leak...

tenor.gif

Ask the Germans, they'll probably let you see them.

20 minutes ago, Bertie Wooster said:

I wonder if Mothma's evades will reroll two dice at close?

possibly It would be nice but we don't know if her card was changed in anyway on top of the evade change.

15 minutes ago, TheWampa said:

And I'm starting to think this is an elaborate scheme to expose all Germans or German-speaking folks lurking in this forum... for whatever reason. :)

I dont feel exposed me. ;)