Micro-Missile Creation

By Rabobankrider, in Game Masters

So I am currently sketching up some loot for my party of players before they go into a huge battle, and one of those players is a mandalorian explosives expert with a micro-missile launcher. For their loot I want to sort them out some missiles of different variety, but when I looked into what missiles are out there, most of them are full sized. To make a micro-missile do you think it's a simple case of halving the damage? What about things like the crit ratings and effects? Also if I wanted to create something like the quill bomb https://star-wars-rpg-ffg.fandom.com/wiki/Quillbomb in missile form or some other grenade, would it be easier to leave their stats as they are or would they also need tweaking?

Are you talking about Micro-Rockets, or the missile packs from Dangerous Covenants?

Micro-rockets is the end goal here. I'm looking to convert some of the DC missiles and assorted grenades into micro-rockets.

5 hours ago, Rabobankrider said:

Micro-rockets is the end goal here. I'm looking to convert some of the DC missiles and assorted grenades into micro-rockets.

Aha. Then you may be better off just crafting micro-rockets.

Here's a spreadsheet I made of crafting stuff, including some custom templates. The custom micro-rocket template is on the first two pages.

Most of the options in DC can be mimicked, but if you want a "better" micro-rocket template, I'll take a look at DC and see if I can suggest a buffed version, but it'd probably be a Daunting check.

Ah awesome, thanks for the resource!

On a slightly different note, if the player buys the mods that increase the loading capacity, does that remove the encumbrance of the missile itself? Eg. if the launcher can hold 5 missiles and the player has 5 missile on their person, would this be encumbrance 0 or 5?

16 minutes ago, Rabobankrider said:

On a slightly different note, if the player buys the mods that increase the loading capacity, does that remove the encumbrance of the missile itself? Eg. if the launcher can hold 5 missiles and the player has 5 missile on their person, would this be encumbrance 0 or 5?

I rule that the encumbrance still applies, but I also interpret the "+3" for Encumbrance to mean that it increases the wearer's Encumbrance capacity, allowing them to carry missiles "for free."

I might be wrong though, I've grappled with how to interpret the encumbrance for attachments for a while as it's not at all clear and may not even be consistent.

On 10/5/2020 at 6:40 PM, P-47 Thunderbolt said:

I rule that the encumbrance still applies, but I also interpret the "+3" for Encumbrance to mean that it increases the wearer's Encumbrance capacity, allowing them to carry missiles "for free."

I might be wrong though, I've grappled with how to interpret the encumbrance for attachments for a while as it's not at all clear and may not even be consistent.

This is typically how I've ruled it, though reloads are still counted by the individual encumbrance as to prevent missile spam in my games.