More RtL questions

By Eric!, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

1) Using the Staff of the wild, can I travel 1 trail to a dungeon, end the dungeon, and then travel another trail if I choose not to go to Tamalir after the dungeon is over? what if I do choose to go back to Tamalir?

2) When the heroes enter a new dungeon level, does the overlord get a turn, or do the heroes get 2 turns back to back? If the overlord gets a turn, does he get the first turn on the start of the next level or does he get the last turn at the level the heroes just left (essentially just collecting cards and threat)?

3) If a hero places a rest order and moves into the exit of a dungeon level what happens to the order? is the order discarded immediately to no effect? Does it take effect at the beginning of the next turn? does it take effect at the beginning of the next turn? does it take effect at the beginning of the next dungeon level?

4) dungeon level 33 (down the drain) card text: Heroes (but not monsters) may move through water spaces on this level. However, entering a water space immediately ends a hero's turn. If a hero ends his turn in a water space, roll a yellow die and move that hero a number of spaces equal to the rolled range along the river towards the pit. If a hero enters the pit he is immediately killed, regardless of remaining wounds or armor.

Okay, here's the question: can a monster move into the pit that is at the end of the water without dying (and then move out on the other side)? it was stipulated that the thematic reasoning would be that there is something magical or sentient in the pit that could differentiate friend from foe. However that makes it pretty easy for the overlord to evade the heroes with his figures.

5) p. 10 RtL "When the overlord acts during the game week, he may do 2 different types of actions: issues order to his lieutenants, and purchase an upgrade. He may do these in any order, even purchasing an upgrade between issuing orders to different lieutenants."

p. 24 RtL "The overlord may buy one ... of the upgrades described below each game week using his XP. This occurs in the Overlord Actions game week step, after lieutenant actions have been carried out."

The question: It seems that these rules contradict eachother, however the example on p. 10 seems to be more explicit to me. So, do you have to issue at least 1 order to lieutenants before purchasing upgrades? If so, if you issue no orders (say all your lieutenants are dead) can you then purchase a lieutenant and then issue it an order? Can you even issue an order to a lieutenant you just bought?

6) Can you equip the Cyrstal of Tival at the start of your turn, (or at any time) without discarding it to use its effect for the purpose of freeing up a slot in your inventory?

Thank you everyone in advance for responding - you are all heroes! Remember, even if you can't find a clear cut answer in the book, I would still like to know what you do and your logic behind it.

7) After you do a dungeon level or encounter, do you shuffle it back into the deck?

I don't know how to edit posts, but after reading the list of fixes on this forum, I have found the answers to questions 2 and 3, so those can be ignored.

8) Can you use leadership to place a rest token on a hero in town or who has gone through the portal (in RtL)?

9) When jumping over a pit, is only the space directly opposite the spot jumped from a valid landing spot, or are there more places allowed (such as the spots adjacent to that spot, which are also adjacent to the pit)?

10) In what encounters can the OL pay 2 threat to move a monster another space or upgrade a die or add a black die? Random encounters, lieutenant encounters, dungeons, or some combination of the three?

11) do you still get 50 gold when killing a master monster? If so, do you get 50 gold in addition to the specified 100 gp for killing the leader of a dungeon level?

1) No, finishing the dungeon will end your game week regardless of staying at the location or going back to Tamalir. Look at the bottom of page 10 of the RtL rulebook under "End of the Week" where it states that completing a dungeon ends the game week.

2) The heroes effectively get two turns in a row so the turn they entered the portal and the first turn at the start of the level. However, this isn't really that much of an advantage for them in practice. Remember that the Spawning marker flips over to the eyes side at the start of each level.

3) The order resolves at the start of the next level. From the GLoAQ:

Q: Can a hero place a rest order before entering a portal, and recieve full fatigue when the next dungeon level begins?
A: I was going to say "no, because moving removes the Rest order," but a careful re-read of the Journeys in the Dark rules revealed that I was in error! I can find no reason why a hero cannot do this. (Although technically, he would not be restored to full fatigue until his individual turn began and would still lose his rest order if he somehow took damage before then.)

4) Friendly advice: thematic arguments in Descent only lead to confusion and bad house rules. The pit at the end is impassable for monsters, they will die just like heroes.

5) I think everyone pretty much just follows pg10. So yes, you can buy a Lt and issue an order to it in the same game week.

6) Yes, nothing says the discarding after equipping is mandatory I think. Be advised, that one treasure items has sparked a ton of rules discussions.

7) This one is kind of a gray area. As far as I know, both dungeon levels and encounters are shuffled back in the deck after being completed. However, it is incredibly common especially for dungeon levels to remove them from the game until the deck runs out for the sake of variety.

8) I don't think anything restricts placing orders on heroes in town via Leadership but I could be mistaken.

9) Nothing in the rules prevents jumping to the adjacent spots.

10) Any outdoor encounters (random and Lts are both outdoor encounters).

11) Yes, you still get the 50 for Master monsters but not for the dungeon leaders since they are named monsters.

Eric! said:

1) Using the Staff of the wild, can I travel 1 trail to a dungeon, end the dungeon, and then travel another trail if I choose not to go to Tamalir after the dungeon is over? what if I do choose to go back to Tamalir?

2) When the heroes enter a new dungeon level, does the overlord get a turn, or do the heroes get 2 turns back to back? If the overlord gets a turn, does he get the first turn on the start of the next level or does he get the last turn at the level the heroes just left (essentially just collecting cards and threat)?

3) If a hero places a rest order and moves into the exit of a dungeon level what happens to the order? is the order discarded immediately to no effect? Does it take effect at the beginning of the next turn? does it take effect at the beginning of the next turn? does it take effect at the beginning of the next dungeon level?

4) dungeon level 33 (down the drain) card text: Heroes (but not monsters) may move through water spaces on this level. However, entering a water space immediately ends a hero's turn. If a hero ends his turn in a water space, roll a yellow die and move that hero a number of spaces equal to the rolled range along the river towards the pit. If a hero enters the pit he is immediately killed, regardless of remaining wounds or armor.

Okay, here's the question: can a monster move into the pit that is at the end of the water without dying (and then move out on the other side)? it was stipulated that the thematic reasoning would be that there is something magical or sentient in the pit that could differentiate friend from foe. However that makes it pretty easy for the overlord to evade the heroes with his figures.

5) p. 10 RtL "When the overlord acts during the game week, he may do 2 different types of actions: issues order to his lieutenants, and purchase an upgrade. He may do these in any order, even purchasing an upgrade between issuing orders to different lieutenants."

p. 24 RtL "The overlord may buy one ... of the upgrades described below each game week using his XP. This occurs in the Overlord Actions game week step, after lieutenant actions have been carried out."

The question: It seems that these rules contradict eachother, however the example on p. 10 seems to be more explicit to me. So, do you have to issue at least 1 order to lieutenants before purchasing upgrades? If so, if you issue no orders (say all your lieutenants are dead) can you then purchase a lieutenant and then issue it an order? Can you even issue an order to a lieutenant you just bought?

6) Can you equip the Cyrstal of Tival at the start of your turn, (or at any time) without discarding it to use its effect for the purpose of freeing up a slot in your inventory?

7) After you do a dungeon level or encounter, do you shuffle it back into the deck?

8) Can you use leadership to place a rest token on a hero in town or who has gone through the portal (in RtL)?

9) When jumping over a pit, is only the space directly opposite the spot jumped from a valid landing spot, or are there more places allowed (such as the spots adjacent to that spot, which are also adjacent to the pit)?

10) In what encounters can the OL pay 2 threat to move a monster another space or upgrade a die or add a black die? Random encounters, lieutenant encounters, dungeons, or some combination of the three?

11) do you still get 50 gold when killing a master monster? If so, do you get 50 gold in addition to the specified 100 gp for killing the leader of a dungeon level?

1. No. You may only enter a dungeon (or city) when you end your movement on that location.
RtL pg10
If the heroes end their movement in a dungeon area, they receive one conquest token if they’ve never been to that area before. They may then may enter the dungeon according to the rules under “Dungeons” on page 17. If the heroes end their movement in a city, they may each go to a building in that city and follow the instructions for that building’s “visit” circumstance.

2. The heroes effectively get two turns in a row. They end one level during their turn, and they always get first turn when beginning a new level.

3. The Rest order takes effect at it's usual time (the start of that heroes next turn, which will be in the next level of the dungeon - if it was the final level then the question is moot as the heroes will return to the Terrinoth map and automatically recover all fatigue).

4. Techncally yes, though the monster would take a wound (it is still a normal pit for a monster.

5. Pg 10 is correct - it is the rules section about actually doing upgrades and Lt actions. Pg 24 is just about stuff the OL can buy and is an incorrect, indirect reference to another rule. These rules are very badly edited.

6. Yes. You may equip the Crystal of Tival (and similar items any time you would normally equip. However you can only discard it for effect after the equip phase at the start of your turn (step 2 - 'start of turn' actually covers everything before you activate your hero/a monster, more or less). This ensures that it has taken up one of your 'other' slots for the turn you use it.

7. Technically yes, though I beleive it is almost universal for people to set dungeon levels, and sometimes encounters, aside until all have been played. This is not according to the rules but provides more variety and is fairer.

8. Yes.

9. There is no definitive answer, sorry. Different people play it differently and we don't even have a decent precedent for how to rule this AFAIK.

10. All encounters (dungeons are not encounters). That is random and Lt encounters from your list.

11. Yes. Original rules from DJitD are stilll in use when not overwritten. No - Named Leaders are not Master monsters, they are Named monsters, though they are often based on a master monster and use the red figures.

Thanks for the quick, thorough answers, guys!

In dungeon levels with more than one dungeon leader, does each leader give 2 conquest and 100 gold? what if the 3rd dungeon level is a level with more than 1 leader, do all leaders give 4 conquest and 250 gold? what about a legendary dungeon, or the avatar's final keep? does the third dungeon level still contain a leader that gives 250 gold and 4 conquest?

Eric! said:

In dungeon levels with more than one dungeon leader, does each leader give 2 conquest and 100 gold?

Yes.

Eric! said:

What if the 3rd dungeon level is a level with more than 1 leader, do all leaders give 4 conquest and 250 gold?

Yes.

Eric! said:

What about a legendary dungeon, or the avatar's final keep? does the third dungeon level still contain a leader that gives 250 gold and 4 conquest?

No: in a legendary dungeon, only the leader(s) of the 4th level give 250 gold and 4 conquest. In the avatar's final keep, you get 2 conquest and 100 gold for leaders on levels 1 to 4, and nothing for defeating the Overlord's avatar in the final level (except winning the game, duh).

In RtL, they seem to have noticed the uselessness of giving a reward beyond winning the game, unlike in the base game where you get conquest when you kill the final leader, whose only use is to spark debates in forums about what its use could be. serio.gif

Eric! said:

In dungeon levels with more than one dungeon leader, does each leader give 2 conquest and 100 gold? what if the 3rd dungeon level is a level with more than 1 leader, do all leaders give 4 conquest and 250 gold? what about a legendary dungeon, or the avatar's final keep? does the third dungeon level still contain a leader that gives 250 gold and 4 conquest?

Yes.
Yes.
I'm tired and can't find the reference but I believe it is always the 'last' level rather than the third.

You talking about this:

Q: In a dungeon with more than 3 levels, do the heroes still receive bonus XP and treasure on the third dungeon level?
A: The bonus XP and treasure should be conferred on the last dungeon level, which is not necessarily the 3rd dungeon level in all cases.

from the descent mobile quick guides:

The master of each dungeon location’s third level is the dungeon leader.

flake said:

from the descent mobile quick guides:

The master of each dungeon location’s third level is the dungeon leader.

Im still editing that site during my free time, i'll change it to something along the lines of "Named monster at the end of the final dungeon level"

im excited to see someone is getting some use out of my quickreference site other then my group:) thanks.

I do apologize if any of the information is wrong, for the most part information is being cut and pasted as it appears in the multiple manuals, and faqs etc. into one convenient place. However there are number of locations that i have summerized and interupted to make for easier use. When this information is incorrect i defentily will make updates. But my site is defentily not a qoutable site and very unoffical:)

Eventually when im to apoint where i think im done i will see if i can get one the forum guru's edit for me;)