Wave 8 Rules Confusion Clear-Up

By gadwag, in X-Wing

Wave 8 is bringing some funky new mechanics, and there are all sorts of questions about how they will work (or whether they work at all under the current rules). This post is to collect all the rules confusion and likely rulings for the unreleased content in one place.

Before reading any further: many of the new mechanics require a rules reference update before they will work at all. Before panicking about broken interactions, wait for an update to the rules reference. Anything written below is subject to change on the release of a new rules reference.

Hondo
swz-hondo-ohnaka.png
Q: Who chooses the action when I coordinate an enemy ship?
A: Almost certainly t he owner of the ship being coordinated . The rules for coordinate say " The chosen ship performs one action.", which indicates that the ship being coordinated (and thus the owner of that ship) makes the choice of action. Note that in the current rules reference, coordinate may only be performed on a friendly ship, and thus Hondo's interaction with the coordinate rules is not completely clear.

Q: Can Hondo coordinate a stressed ship?
A: Yes , but as mentioned above, the coordinate rules are not clear for Hondo and are likely to be re-written to some extent

Purple Maneuvers
Q: What happens if I reveal a purple maneuver but have no force remaining?
A: Perform a white 2 straight . This is not in the current rules reference, but developers have stated the effect is the same as revealing a red move while stressed.

Q: Are purple maneuvers more difficult than red?
A: Unknown . There is no description of purple maneuvers in the current rules reference. When describing actions, the rules reference says: " Actions have three difficulties, from least to most restrictive: white, red, and purple."

Q: Will dial-change effects (such as damaged engine) turn red maneuvers purple?
A: No . According to the rules reference: " If an effect increases the difficulty of a maneuver, blue increases to white, and white increases to red. If an effect decreases the difficulty of a maneuver, red decreases to white, and white decreases to blue "

Hyperspace Docking Rings
Q: Will these be legal for tournament play?
A: No

Q: Can I use system-phase abilities (eg. sense) on a docked ship?
A: No . Docked ships are out-of-play and may not use any abilities unless otherwise specified

Q: Can I trigger a system phase ability (eg. sense) in the same phase as deploying?
A: Unlikely. Deploying occurs at the docked ship's initiative, but the ship is still docked at the start of its initiative step, which is when its system phase abilities would enter the ability queue. Thus, the ship's system phase abilities cannot be added to the ability queue during the same systems phase in which it deploys. This is not a clear-cut ruling (it's already been discussed in relation to the autopilot drone) and some players disagree.

Sideslip
Q: What is a sideslip and what are the rules for performing one?
A: Sideslips are sideways maneuvers that may be performed by the HMP gunship using the Repulsorlift Stabilisers configuration. These maneuvers are performed by placing a maneuver template beside the ship (aligned middle to middle) and pointing forwards. The ship is then placed at the other end of the template, again aligned middle to middle. See the image below for reference. Sideslips are not in the most recent rules reference, and thus comprehensive rules have not been published for them yet.

gmZzxenvecDAeI9KAvFV2T4qP1iK6qZX3ZUqUYXbKatqeDQScATKmEff765ViaI_EQ_xVA0riFSNk0YqHuCgLQiFkz7CKCzGqaAju5qfdVqcwfhRwCGN8z3DGnGtT9PLvQiYWwt9

111222353_10158153613971084_798439306461

Edited by gadwag
Added card images
17 minutes ago, gadwag said:

1. Hondo
Q: Who chooses the action when I coordinate an enemy ship?
A: Currently, coordinate may only be performed on a friendly ship. Thus, Hondo does not work on enemy ships at all right no w .

2. Hyperspace Docking Rings
Q: Will these be legal for tournament play?

1. Hondo's card ability says he can so I'll point you back to the Golden Rules, page 2 of the RR. Specifically the second one. "If the ability of a card conflicts with the rules in this guide, the card ability takes precedence."

2. That's a no. Max repeated that multiple times during the portion of the stream where they covered it. The docking ring is for Scenario, Epic, and casual play only.

Edited by Hiemfire
Just now, Hiemfire said:

That's a no. Max repeated that multiple times during the portion of the stream where they covered it. The docking ring is for Scenario, Epic, and casual play only.

Yeah, I hit ctrl+enter too early while writing the post, don't worry :)

4 minutes ago, gadwag said:

Yeah, I hit ctrl+enter too early while writing the post, don't worry :)

I edited mine. Hondo is legal as written. :)

Edited by Hiemfire
2 minutes ago, Hiemfire said:

I edited mine. Hondo is legal as written. :)

It's pretty clear how hondo is meant to work, although I think a rewrite of the coordinate rules would clear up any possible confusion. It's not so much that he's doing the golden rule thing and breaking a rule, it's more that it just gets mechanically messy if you try and apply the current coordinate rules step by step when using Hondo.

@Hiemfire I've cleaned up the hondo line a bit more. The purpose of the post is not so much to give hard and fast rulings (because we are awaiting a new RR) but more to highlight areas of confusion and prevent the same questions popping up repeatedly.

I was actually about to open a thread on Hondo, so I'm glad you beat me to it @gadwag . Not that it matters but I agree with premise that if you coordinate an enemy ship, that ship's owner will decide the action.

Just for everybody's reference.

swz-hondo-ohnaka.png

6 hours ago, gadwag said:

Sideslip
Q: What is a sideslip and what are the rules for performing one?
A: Sideslips are sideways maneuvers that may be performed by the HMP gunship using the Repulsorlift Stabilisers configuration. These maneuvers are performed by placing a maneuver template beside the ship (aligned middle to middle) and pointing forwards. The ship is then placed at the other end of the template, again aligned middle to middle. See the image below for reference. Sideslips are not in the most recent rules reference, and thus comprehensive rules have not been published for them yet.

gmZzxenvecDAeI9KAvFV2T4qP1iK6qZX3ZUqUYXbKatqeDQScATKmEff765ViaI_EQ_xVA0riFSNk0YqHuCgLQiFkz7CKCzGqaAju5qfdVqcwfhRwCGN8z3DGnGtT9PLvQiYWwt9

111222353_10158153613971084_798439306461

I wish they'd shown more examples of this than just this one. I want to know how the turning sideslip works. Can you go backwards by point a turn towards your rear (somewhat like Echo)? I would assume yes but am curious for them to confirm. Wish I'd thought about it while the stream was on.

Edited by CaptainJaguarShark
40 minutes ago, CaptainJaguarShark said:

I wish they'd shown more examples of this than just this one. I want to know how the turning sideslip works. Can you go backwards by point a turn towards your rear (somewhat like Echo)? I would assume yes but am curious for them to confirm. Wish I'd thought about it while the stream was on.

They said in the stream that you cannot go backwards, so it must always have that forward curve. They also said you cannot treat it like a barrel roll either, so no sliding forward or back a half base..

So, worth adding to the Hondo discussion: RAW they need to alter the coordinate entry in the RRG if they want Hondo to coordinate an enemy. Coordinate action currently says “pick one friendly” and Hondo’s text doesn’t directly state you can ignore this rule. At least, my play group is discussing this.

21 minutes ago, ScummyRebel said:

So, worth adding to the Hondo discussion: RAW they need to alter the coordinate entry in the RRG if they want Hondo to coordinate an enemy. Coordinate action currently says “pick one friendly” and Hondo’s text doesn’t directly state you can ignore this rule. At least, my play group is discussing this.

When cards contradict the rules, refer to the Golden Rules. Card ability takes precedence.

I do expect they will state this clearly in the FAQ simply because it's confusing but also because they need to clarify who picks the action for the coordinated ship.

1 minute ago, CaptainJaguarShark said:

When cards contradict the rules, refer to the Golden Rules. Card ability takes precedence.

Agreed, but technically speaking, he doesn't override the rules here since he doesn't specifically say "This ability can coordinate enemy ships." RAW and without changes to the RR, he could only be used on friendly ships. Surely would still be worth something but maybe not as much.

Of course, they'll almost certainly provide a RR update and FAQ for this, so no big deal.

1 minute ago, ClassicalMoser said:

Agreed, but technically speaking, he doesn't override the rules here since he doesn't specifically say "This ability can coordinate enemy ships." RAW and without changes to the RR, he could only be used on friendly ships. Surely would still be worth something but maybe not as much.

Of course, they'll almost certainly provide a RR update and FAQ for this, so no big deal.

I'm not sure I follow your logic here. His card specifically says he coordinates an enemy ship. How is that not in conflict with the rules? I think the real issue here is what happens after the ship is chosen, not whether the ship can be chosen.

But of course, the RRG will come eventually to explain everything away, so our disagreement is mostly pointless. It is interesting to look at rules "holes" like this one (a similar one is the lack of a currently known way to red slam for T-70s to use the Overdrive Thruster)

3 minutes ago, CaptainJaguarShark said:

His card specifically says he coordinates an enemy ship.

It actually doesn't though. It says to choose two ships at range 1-3 that are friendly to each other. This does allow you to choose your own teammates. The word "enemy" isn't on his card, so it doesn't give a specific exception. Of course the intent is clearly for it to work for both teams and that's why we should expect a RR update and FAQ.

And I see the reason for why you included what should have an obvious answer @gadwag . There are enough people who play this game that would fail a basic level reading comprehension test that it needs to be clarified.

Is it worth mentioning the currently broken (again, prior to rules reference) interaction between Overdrive Thruster and Black One.

To me it's clear at least from the card art that it is intended to be used with Black One's SLAM, but you can't as it requires you to do a Red Slam action and no card currently offers the chance to do that. Poe can't do it because SLAM in the rules reference specifically calls out "A ship can perform a [SLAM] action only as the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step. Therefore a ship cannot perform a [SLAM] action if it is granted an action from another effect."

So Poe cannot spend tokens to make the SLAM red because Poe's ability specifically calls out 'after performing an action', meaning you must perform an action to do a second action that is red but SLAM cannot be done because you've already performed an action.

This also brings up the question of the Interceptor Booster for the Tri Fighter which has a linked action: [SLAM] > Red [Lock].

Going by the rules reference, this seems clean because SLAM is the first action being performed that then links into the lock which works like Advanced SLAM would, but figured it was worth calling both out as it could be argued against given that the rules reference says "A ship can perform a [SLAM] action only as the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step." However, if Advanced SLAM works, it's good enough for me and there is a precedent.

8 hours ago, 5050Saint said:

They said in the stream that you cannot go backwards, so it must always have that forward curve. They also said you cannot treat it like a barrel roll either, so no sliding forward or back a half base..

Did they explain whether you use the hard turn template for turning or if it was always a bank template?

13 minutes ago, Matanui3 said:

Did they explain whether you use the hard turn template for turning or if it was always a bank template?

The implication was that it's always the bank, but I don't recall them being specific. I think its just it replaces your banks or turns, the reason you select a bank or turn is to indicate the direction and maybe the speed.

Thanks for your efforts @gadwag .

I am reminded why I hate new waves as I can sense the rules lawyering intensifying already.

To me it’s blatantly clear how Hondo works.... but now the rules lawyers will attempt to deep dive into something pretty basic.

My apologies in advance for some replies for the stupid threads that are going to pop up once we get more info

1 hour ago, Ebak said:

Is it worth mentioning the currently broken (again, prior to rules reference) interaction between Overdrive Thruster and Black One.

Is it broken if it never was whole is the first place?

8 hours ago, CaptainJaguarShark said:

His card specifically says he coordinates an enemy ship.

It doesn't really. Beyond "enemy" ships, there are "allied" ships that aren't friendly ships, so perhaps the wording was leaving room for allied ships not enemy ships. RAI, I think the intention was for it to work on enemy ships, but RAW, you cannot coordinate enemy ships.

58 minutes ago, 5050Saint said:

Is it broken if it never was whole is the first place?

It doesn't really. Beyond "enemy" ships, there are "allied" ships that aren't friendly ships, so perhaps the wording was leaving room for allied ships not enemy ships. RAI, I think the intention was for it to work on enemy ships, but RAW, you cannot coordinate enemy ships.

This is where the comprehension aspect is failing terribly.

You are right in that you cannot coordinate an enemy ship. Ie A Oicunn can’t coordinate your opponents Luke. But Hondo, clearly using the golden rule of card overwriting the RAW, picks two ship allied to each and does the card ability. The owner of Hondo is not coordinating an enemy ship, the card text is.

Cannot wait for the replies to this....

2 hours ago, Ebak said:

"A ship can perform a [SLAM] action only as the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step."

It's always worth noting: the rule that grants ships their one action in activation only ever says 1 action. But you can link from it, because that's how the rules of linking work. Yes, the Trifighter can link Lock after SLAM.

2 hours ago, 5050Saint said:

Is it broken if it never was whole is the first place?

It doesn't really. Beyond "enemy" ships, there are "allied" ships that aren't friendly ships, so perhaps the wording was leaving room for allied ships not enemy ships. RAI, I think the intention was for it to work on enemy ships, but RAW, you cannot coordinate enemy ships.

It says "two ships that are friendly to each other"
Breaking this down, this includes two of your ships, two of a single opponent's ships, one of your ships and one of your teammate's ships, two of your teammate's ships, or one ship each from two opponents who are on a team (but not ships owned by two opponents who are not on a team).

After choosing those two ships, no matter who controls them, it tells you to jam one and coordinate the other. The only thing arguing that you cannot coordinate an opponent's ship does is make the card incredibly busted as a range 1-3 jam with no drawback. Remember, the correct interpretation is probably the one that doesn't cause a garbage fire.

5 minutes ago, Matanui3 said:

It says "two ships that are friendly to each other"
Breaking this down, this includes two of your ships, two of a single opponent's ships, one of your ships and one of your teammate's ships, two of your teammate's ships, or one ship each from two opponents who are on a team (but not ships owned by two opponents who are not on a team).

After choosing those two ships, no matter who controls them, it tells you to jam one and coordinate the other. The only thing arguing that you cannot coordinate an opponent's ship does is make the card incredibly busted as a range 1-3 jam with no drawback. Remember, the correct interpretation is probably the one that doesn't cause a garbage fire.

Allies don't count as friendly to each other iirc. So it would be 2 ships played by the same player. You couldn't jam one of your allies' ships to coordinate on of your own (and vis versa), but you could jam one of their ships and coordinate another one of their ships.

3 minutes ago, Hiemfire said:

Allies don't count as friendly to each other iirc. So it would be 2 ships played by the same player. You couldn't jam one of your allies' ships to coordinate on of your own (and vis versa), but you could jam one of their ships and coordinate another one of their ships.

I stand corrected. It's been a while since I read the epic battles rulebook. Or much of anything related to X-Wing in general, sadly.

I want to play at my LGS again...