Questions concerning battles (playing tactic cards, giants)

By Graf, in Runewars

I have some questions concerning special occurances that could take place at battles.

1) A player is attacking an army that is completly routed. Now, the defender plays a tactic card at the start of the battle – let‘s say „summon lightning“. The rules say „Heroes and routed units are not placed to the right of a player’s faction sheet and, instead, remain in the contested area. These figures may not participate in battle, and these routed units are destroyed if forced to retreat.“

Is it correct that only the attackers units are affected by that tactic card (as the defenders units don‘t take place in the „real“ battle)?

If yes, this card is the perfect method to counter that typical lone unit that is wiping out a whole routed army.

2) Imagine two giants are participants of a battle (in the same army). One of them is terribly hurt with 4 damage, the other one has not been wounded at all. Both of them pick a fate card with an orb that triggers their special ability.

The giants special ability says: „Rage: Deal 1 damage for each damage on 1 of your giants.“

Is it correct that both of them will frenzy and cause 4 damage each – even the one that is not harmed at all?

Now imagine both of them have been wounded. One has got 4 damage, the other one has 3 damage. Both of them pick an orb-fate card again. Is it correct that both can choose to affect 4 damage?

3) Tactic cards at the start of a battle:

The rules say: „Start of Battle Abilities: If the attacker has any Tactics cards or other abilities that may be used at the “start of battle” or during his turn, he must use them at this point if he is going to do so. The defender then has the opportunity to use any number of “start of battle” abilities and cards.“

After the defender has played his tactic cards, has the attacker the possibility to play another tactic card (to react to the tactic card the defender has played) or has his chance to do so gone?

1) My understanding is "yes" - the routed units are not part of the battle, and thus are not affected by Summon Lightning or other effects that damage units in the battle.

2) Yes on both counts; the cards are not assigned to individual giants. If EITHER giant has 4 damage, both giants will do 4 damage with an orb.

3) I would say "no" - the rules are pretty explicit that it's attacker then defender. However, this does mean that the defender should give the attacker fair opportunity to play a card, too; IE, just jumping in right away to play one without giving the attacker a chance isn't really allowed, either. The attacker needs to declare whether he is playing a card or declining before it's the defender's turn.