Hello everyone, so last night, in a casual battle, I was playing K2S0 and Jake in the same list, and we encountered a bit of an issue. so the list I was running was...
K-2SO (46)
Baze Malbus (3)
Jyn Erso (2)
Pivot Wing (0)
Ship total: 51 Half Points: 26 Threshold: 4
Cassian Andor (51)
Leia Organa (7)
Pivot Wing (0)
Ship total: 58 Half Points: 29 Threshold: 4
Jake Farrell (36)
Ship total: 36 Half Points: 18 Threshold: 2
Wedge Antilles (55)
Servomotor S-Foils (0)
Ship total: 55 Half Points: 28 Threshold: 3
Total: 200
View in Yet Another Squad Builder 2.0:
https://raithos.github.io/?f=Rebel Alliance&d=v8ZsZ200Z390XWW17W40WW140Y32XWW46WWW140Y50XWWY5XWWWW142&sn=Unnamed Squadron&obs=
So what ended up happening was that K2S0 red coordinated Jake, causing him to Barrel Roll. But what I wanted Jake to do was allow K2 to perform a focus action through his pilot ability. My reasoning is because as it states in the rule under the stress token heading "A ship receives one stress token while it executes a red maneuver or AFTER it performs a red action." This means that K2 does not receive his stress token until after the coordinate is complete. And under the coordinate section, it states that "When a ship performs the (coordinate) action, it coordinates. A coordinating ship is a ship that is attempting to coordinate by performing the following steps: 1. Measure range from the coordinating ship to any friendly ships. 2. Choose another friendly ship at range 1–2. 3. The chosen ship performs one action." So while Jake performs his 1 action, K2S0 is still technically coordinating, meaning that he doesn't get his stress until after Jake has Barrel Rolled, allowing time for K2S0 to perform a focus action.
That is the conclusion me and the other player reached, are we correct in this?
Also, one side question. If this does work the way we think, can Baze make that focus action red even though he will be receiving a stress token from his coordinate?
Thanks for your help everyone.