Moving (not maneuver) through Debris

By topacesteve, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hello, in the Fandom wiki about debris, i found this followin paragraph. Does it mean i can still barell roll or boost through Debris (not failing the action?) :

" While a ship is moving, but not executing a maneuver, if it moves through or overlaps a debris cloud the ship gains one stress token. The ship rolls one attack die. On a Icon damage crit result, it suffers one Icon damage crit damage."

25 minutes ago, topacesteve said:

Hello, in the Fandom wiki about debris, i found this followin paragraph. Does it mean i can still barell roll or boost through Debris (not failing the action?) :

" While a ship is moving, but not executing a maneuver, if it moves through or overlaps a debris cloud the ship gains one stress token. The ship rolls one attack die. On a Icon damage crit result, it suffers one Icon damage crit damage."

Not normally. A ship will fail a barrel roll or boost (normal action or non-action such as a Decloak or N-1 baby Anakin) if it goes through Debris, unless there is some other effect which allows it.

For example, you might have Collision Detector and be either unwilling to spend a charge (or have already spent them), or you might boost or barrel roll over a Debris as part of being Tractored. Those would be two examples of when you can Boost/Roll through Debris, and still have to suffer the effects, but it won't fail.

Edited by theBitterFig

It is important to also note that Tractor tokens cause a ship to boost or barrel roll (in a sense), but does not count as executing a maneuver. I don't have the RR in front of me, but I know the section of tractor says something about being executed as a boost or barrel roll, except that it can overlap obstacles.

Edit: totally missed that tractored was referenced in theBitterFigs's reply. Maybe I should get my eyes checked.

Edited by SwampyCr

I guess this means that Little Orphan Ani can use his force-barrel roll to go through obstacles?

latest?cb=20190521181903

Edited by emeraldbeacon
3 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

I guess this means that Little Orphan Ani can use his force-barrel roll to go through obstacles?

latest?cb=20190521181903

No. Tractored movement has specific exemptions in its rules. Ani is still performing a barrel roll following the rules laid out for that movement despite it not beong considered and action.

19 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

I guess this means that Little Orphan Ani can use his force-barrel roll to go through obstacles?

Not without Collision Detector.

22 hours ago, SwampyCr said:

It is important to also note that Tractor tokens cause a ship to boost or barrel roll (in a sense), but does not count as executing a maneuver

No boost or barrel roll typically counts as a maneuver. It counts as a move, which is different. Also,Tractor tokens doesn't cause it to move. It causes it to be tractored, which has the option to move it for the one who caused it to become tractored.