I have 2 ships on initiative 2 with the coordinate action, second ship is initiative 4 that received an ion token on the previous turn. Can the coordinating ship coordinate any action other than the focus action to the ioned ship since it is before the ioned ship is actually activated.
coordinating an ioned ship
7 minutes ago, librarian101 said:I have 2 ships on initiative 2 with the coordinate action, second ship is initiative 4 that received an ion token on the previous turn. Can the coordinating ship coordinate any action other than the focus action to the ioned ship since it is before the ioned ship is actually activated.
no, assuming the ship is ionized with one ion token, meaning that it's a small ship.
that's from page 12 of the rules reference, under ion.
it's worth noting this wasn't always the case, but it's how it works now.
4 hours ago, meffo said:no, assuming the ship is ionized with one ion token, meaning that it's a small ship.
![]()
that's from page 12 of the rules reference, under ion.
it's worth noting this wasn't always the case, but it's how it works now.
To add,
QuoteA ship is ionized while it has a number of ion tokens relative to its size:
Doesn't matter when it gets the token, or if its currently the active ship. So long as it *has* enough ion tokens, it is ionized until those tokens are removed, and is privy to all restrictions and effects that affect ionized ships, including the one meffo listed.
Its also worth noting, that one shouldn't distinguish the Perform action step from other effects that grant actions. Coordinate, and the Perform action step do Exactly the same thing.. grant the target ship an action. So the ionized effect restricts what actions a ship can perform, no matter how that action was granted. Abilities have to specifically state that they override such restrictions to be allowed to work. For example, this card.
Note the last line makes an exception. This means a ship with this title upgrade, while ionized, can perform the Focus action, and actions on damage cards (but is still restricted from all other actions).
another situation In the combat phase. Poe has an ion cannon fires at wedge gets an ion hit, wedge receives an ion token, fires back. Airen Cracken then fires at Poe is in range 1 of wedge, his ability allows him to give wedge an action, is wedge at that point ioned and limited to a focus or is there a point in the sequence of play that you become ioned.
Edited by librarian1014 minutes ago, librarian101 said:another situation In the combat phase. Poe has an ion cannon fires at wedge gets an ion hit, wedge receives an ion token, fires back. Airen Cracken then fires at Poe is in range 1 of wedge, his ability allows him to give wedge an action, is wedge at that point ioned and limited to a focus or is there a point in the sequence of play that you become ioned.
wedge becomes ionized when he recieves an ion token. that's the point in the sequence of play when he becomes ionized. as long as he's ionized, he cannot perform any actions other than the focus action.
so airen cracken could certainly grant wedge an action, but since wedge is ionized, he could only focus, assuming he didn't already focus this round.
Ok, so when you receive the token that is the point of be ionized, and the effect starts.
Thanks
7 hours ago, librarian101 said:Ok, so when you receive the token that is the point of be ionized, and the effect starts.
Yep. This statement (as mentioned above) is to be taken quite literately.
QuoteA ship is ionized while it has a number of ion tokens relative to its size:
As soon as the ship is assigned the ion token, it has an ion token, thus it is ionized. Same for all other effected tied to tokens. The moment a Focus token is assigned to a ship, that ship is 'focused'. Same for critical damage cards. As soon as you flip it and deal it to the ship, that ship is affected by it.