I’ve only recently got back into xwing now using 2.0 and want to equip a Tractor Beam. The new rules imply that you have to put the same number of tractor tokens on as the size of the ship when the attack is successful as long as there are enough hits for this attack to be successful. Does this mean however that if a small ship uses it on a medium or large ship that the tractor beam fails if there are not 2 or 3 hits respectively after the neutralize step? Or is it that if one hit gets through (therefore the attack hits) that you then place the relevant number of tokens to match the size of the ship regardless of how many hit dice were successful?
Tractor Tokens on each size ship
41 minutes ago, DocLBrown24 said:I’ve only recently got back into xwing now using 2.0 and want to equip a Tractor Beam. The new rules imply that you have to put the same number of tractor tokens on as the size of the ship when the attack is successful as long as there are enough hits for this attack to be successful. Does this mean however that if a small ship uses it on a medium or large ship that the tractor beam fails if there are not 2 or 3 hits respectively after the neutralize step? Or is it that if one hit gets through (therefore the attack hits) that you then place the relevant number of tokens to match the size of the ship regardless of how many hit dice were successful?
Attack: If this attack hits, all / results inflict tractor tokens instead of damage.
Tractor Beam
Attack: If this attack hits, all [HIT]/[CRIT] results inflict tractor tokens instead of damage.
Tractor Beam applies Tractor Tokens , not the Tractored "state". If, after the Neutralize Results step there are any remaining Hit/Crit results, each one of those applies a single token to the target.
As for the Tractored state, that is based on base size! If a small ship gets 1 token, its Tractored, a medium needs 2, large needs 3. If a Tractor Beam only puts 2 tokens on a Large, it doesn't "Fail", there are just 2 tokens that, unless a 3rd is applied that round, do nothing.
that's not how it works at all, @DocLBrown24 . a tractor beam is a cannon, a secondary weapon you can elect to use when you perform an attack during the engagement phase. instead of inflicting damage, the tractor beam inflicts tractor tokens instead.
having a tractor token and being tractored is not the same thing in all cases. how many tractor tokens it takes to become tractored depends on the base size of the ship in question.
so a large ship needs to have three tractor tokens or more before becoming tractored, a medium ship only needs two and small ships become tractored as soon as they get one token or more. additional tokens after the prerequisite amount don't have any effect for the purpose of the rules in general, but may be relevant when it comes to certain abilities (holo) and other upgrade cards (electronic baffle).
whether an attack is successful or not is subjective. i would count any attack that hits as being successful, but honestly, it depends on what the attacker aimed to accomplish by performing the attack.
3 hours ago, meffo said:that's not how it works at all, @DocLBrown24 . a tractor beam is a cannon, a secondary weapon you can elect to use when you perform an attack during the engagement phase. instead of inflicting damage, the tractor beam inflicts tractor tokens instead.
![]()
having a tractor token and being tractored is not the same thing in all cases. how many tractor tokens it takes to become tractored depends on the base size of the ship in question.
![]()
so a large ship needs to have three tractor tokens or more before becoming tractored, a medium ship only needs two and small ships become tractored as soon as they get one token or more. additional tokens after the prerequisite amount don't have any effect for the purpose of the rules in general, but may be relevant when it comes to certain abilities (holo) and other upgrade cards (electronic baffle).
whether an attack is successful or not is subjective. i would count any attack that hits as being successful, but honestly, it depends on what the attacker aimed to accomplish by performing the attack.
Rules Reference : Page 20 - Tractor
Also, from page 18 - Ship Sizes.
QuoteA medium ship requires two ion tokens before it is ionized and two tractor tokens before it is tractored.
A large ship requires three ion tokens before it is ionized and three tractor tokens before it is tractored.
On 6/13/2020 at 4:54 AM, DocLBrown24 said:Does this mean however that if a small ship uses it on a medium or large ship that the tractor beam fails if there are not 2 or 3 hits respectively after the neutralize step? Or is it that if one hit gets through (therefore the attack hits) that you then place the relevant number of tokens to match the size of the ship regardless of how many hit dice were successful?
I'll try to clarify the answers given above with direct answers to your questions, and add a little more.
As stated above, the tractor beam attack does hit and apply tokens as long as there are uncanceled hit/crits. However, an attack does not 'fail' due to not getting enough hits. An attack will Miss if all results are cancelled or it will Hit if there are uncanceled results. On a large base target you may not be able to achieve enough hits for the Tractored state to be applied but you still apply the appropriate number of tokens which will stick around until the end of the turn giving you an opportunity to attack again with another tractor beam to hopefully as enough additional tokens to reach the Tractored state and get to push them around and drop ability.
@DocLBrown24 us know if these explanations are helping or not!
Also note that Quad Jumpers can use actions and Nantex can use a unique upgrade to apply individual tractor tokens during the activation step; so a group can work together to get enough tokens to make a large ship Tractored even while applying one token at a time.