Hello, since we Must treat Missiles as Turret Attack, and since Turret Arc is Printed as primary on the Card,
is it possible to consider Missiles as Primary Attack weapons? (for Crackshot etc)
Hello, since we Must treat Missiles as Turret Attack, and since Turret Arc is Printed as primary on the Card,
is it possible to consider Missiles as Primary Attack weapons? (for Crackshot etc)
20 minutes ago, topacesteve said:Hello, since we Must treat Missiles as Turret Attack, and since Turret Arc is Printed as primary on the Card,
is it possible to consider Missiles as Primary Attack weapons? (for Crackshot etc)
No, Primary is still only what is printed on the pilot-card (Or on the Moldy Crow title)
It’s not saying the missile is a primary weapon, only that you can only shoot missiles from whichever direction your turret arc is pointing (instead of just the forward arc).
On most other ships missiles can only still be shot out the front, and are still not a primary attack.
While it isn't a primary attack, it does become a *turret* attack. It doesn't matter much, but for Hotshot Gunner, it does. Off the top of my head, I can't think of anything else relevant (other than the standard "which way are you pointing" stuff).
2 hours ago, theBitterFig said:...Off the top of my head, I can't think of anything else relevant...
Add:
V̶e̶t̶e̶r̶a̶n̶ ̶T̶u̶r̶r̶e̶t̶ ̶G̶u̶n̶n̶e̶r̶
, and talents like Outmaneuver that are specifically triggered by a front arc attack.
Edit: butter for pointed out below that VTG has a restriction that makes it incomparable with TIE/sf
Edited by nitrobenz18 minutes ago, nitrobenz said:Add: Veteran Turret Gunner, and talents like Outmaneuver that are specifically triggered by a front arc attack.
Good catch on Outmaneuver.
VTG isn't relevant in the context of the TIE/sf--can't equip it, since it requires a stand-alone Rotate action.
Yeah... it's important to note that the TIE/SF ship ability effectively changes the front arc symbol on your missiles into a mobile arc symbol. This means it does trigger effects like Hotshot Gunner, as described above, and does not trigger Outmaneuver, even if your mobile arc is pointing forward . Essentially, any time an effect instructs you to "Treat X as Y," for whatever duration that effect is in place, X is entirely replaced by Y.
I could get into how Krassis Trelix can use Outmaneuver in her back arc, but that's another topic entirely. 😉
On 6/12/2020 at 10:00 PM, theBitterFig said:While it isn't a primary attack, it does become a *turret* attack. It doesn't matter much, but for Hotshot Gunner, it does. Off the top of my head, I can't think of anything else relevant (other than the standard "which way are you pointing" stuff).
The Heavy Weapon Turret makes TIE/sf Fighter must treat the front arc requirement of its equipped missiles and torpedoes as the turret arc, but I wonder whether the equipped missile or torpedo becomes a turret attack rather than the arc printed on the cards.
I just remember a case that it is saying Outmaneuver does work on Krassis Trelix [Scum, Firespray-class Patrol Craft] while he attack with special weapons from the rear arc. Since there is no such a phrase of "treat [arc] as [arc]" explained in the RR, and it is said in FAQ that a weapon's attacking arc is what is printed on the card - I think same things happen to the TIE/sf Fighter.
Did I make any mistake on understanding the wording?
The Heavy Weapons Turret special ability says to treat the missile's front arc requirement as a turret arc, which does indeed change the attack from a front arc attack into a turret arc attack. Contrast with Krassis, whose ability does not treat anything like anything else, but rather simply says that you may perform front arc special attacks from your rear arc.
To make the distinction even clearer: a TIE/sf could not use Outmaneuver with a missile attack, even if the target was in the attacker's front arc, because the missile is no longer treated as being a front arc attack.
5 hours ago, muzhyou said:I just remember a case that it is saying Outmaneuver does work on Krassis Trelix [Scum, Firespray-class Patrol Craft] while he attack with special weapons from the rear arc.
There were discussions on it, but nothing officially ruled by FFG. Saying it "does work" is mainly just a community consensus. Just to be clear in case FFG later rules on it to not work for some reason.