My ship ended its turn with the front edge of its base slightly overlapping the back of an asteroid. I rolled a dice, did not take an action, and did not attack on my turn. On my next turn, do I need to also roll another dice since my ship will be moving through that same asteroid again?
Overlapping obstacle twice
1 hour ago, RawF15 said:My ship ended its turn with the front edge of its base slightly overlapping the back of an asteroid. I rolled a dice, did not take an action, and did not attack on my turn. On my next turn, do I need to also roll another dice since my ship will be moving through that same asteroid again?
Yes. At any time, if your maneuver template, or final position of the ship overlap an asteroid, you suffer the effects of it. Doesn't matter how many times as each check happens during each activation.
Obstacles cause effects when they are moved through or overlapped. In some situations, this means that, yes, you will trigger its effects twice... in others, you might not. The main thing to remember is, the obstacle doesn't care about where you START from, only the path that you're taking forward FROM that point, and the final place your ship STOPS. You will trigger the effects of an obstacle on a maneuver, if either of two conditions are met:
- At the end of your maneuver, your ship overlaps an obstacle. This means you're at range 0 of that obstacle, physically touching it.
- While performing a maneuver, you move through an obstacle. This means your template crosses that obstacle, by any amount.
Often, both situations will apply; in that case, you still only apply the effects of that obstacle once per incident. If you happen to move through or overlap two (or more?) obstacles in a single maneuver, then you have to apply the effects of each obstacle separately. In any case, the question of "do I suffer obstacle effects" always comes down to your current maneuver and final position.
Some other common notes:
- A zero-speed maneuver is still a maneuver, and will trigger the effects of an obstacle you're currently at Range 0 of.
- You might not be able to complete a maneuver due to overlapping another ship. In that case, only the part of your maneuver template between your starting and finishing position counts, for purposes of triggering obstacle effects; anything beyond that is ignored.
- If for some reason you are NOT executing a maneuver in a round (such as a Vulture or Hyena with Struts), or if you are somehow ignoring a given obstacle (like Dash Rendar, a Mining Guild TIE, or Qi'Ra with a lock), you don't need to worry about it.
Ok, both of these answers help a lot, thank you. I think I was overthinking things and thinking that thematically, if in a different situation I started my turn halfway over an asteroid, I would not need to trigger its effects as I moved off of it. But both of these explanations would still require me to trigger its effects.
I got it worse once. A tie bomber just deployed a proximity mine that overlapped the asteroid I accidentally landed on (my eyeballing it, was off by litterally half an inch, that was it), so i landed on the asteroid. Lost a shield (And my stealth device), THEN lost 3 more the following round, when even trying ANY MOVE i could (in my Y-wing), i still passed through the asteroid AND The proximity mine.
Then i got blown up the following round after being hit by a concussion missile from another tie bomber...
5 hours ago, LTuser said:I got it worse once. A tie bomber just deployed a proximity mine that overlapped the asteroid I accidentally landed on (my eyeballing it, was off by litterally half an inch, that was it), so i landed on the asteroid. Lost a shield (And my stealth device), THEN lost 3 more the following round, when even trying ANY MOVE i could (in my Y-wing), i still passed through the asteroid AND The proximity mine.
Then i got blown up the following round after being hit by a concussion missile from another tie bomber...
That poor Y-Wing pilot 😂
It was iirc my 2nd game at Origins, the first year i got exposed to the HOTAC rules, when someone eles was running it.. So at the time, i wasn't good at eye-balling where my ship may have ended up doing this or that maneuver....
@LTuser “HOTAC?”
Edited by Cpt ObVus1 hour ago, Cpt ObVus said:@LTuser “HOTAC?”
"Heroes Of The Aturi Cluster" is a fan made Co-op game that uses X-wing Miniatures core rules and components.
http://dockingbay416.com/campaign/
Yup. These days that's the only way i do X-wing...
20 hours ago, LTuser said:It was iirc my 2nd game at Origins, the first year i got exposed to the HOTAC rules, when someone eles was running it.. So at the time, i wasn't good at eye-balling where my ship may have ended up doing this or that maneuver....
Spoilers. EVERY new x-wing player goes though this lol. Having "eye-rulers" is a skill that has to be developed by playing. It takes time, dont sweat it 🙂
15 hours ago, nitrobenz said:"Heroes Of The Aturi Cluster" is a fan made Co-op game that uses X-wing Miniatures core rules and components.
http://dockingbay416.com/campaign/
Its great fun! Tho i dont like the inconsistency thats happening with 2E conversion of this. Guess thats what happens when the main creator doesnt work on it anymore.
4 hours ago, Lyianx said:Spoilers. EVERY new x-wing player goes though this lol. Having "eye-rulers" is a skill that has to be developed by playing. It takes time, dont sweat it 🙂
Yea, found that out the hard way.. That's why i love one of the suggestions is aw someone make, on the HOTAC site, of ALLOWING players to actually USE the ruler's on the board, while planning out their move, for NEW Players.. Say for their first 3-4 games.