genie vs. teleporting on the same turn

By darthmax1, in Talisman Rules Questions

is the genie able to use the spells if let say you draw it on the ruins and teleport using icequeens palace????? and use spells on a character or creature you encounter from the icequeens palace teleport ability???

As soon you get the Genie, you can use the spells anytime.

The spells are not from the character, so they do not count to the spell limit.

If you have the Psionic Blast for example, then you can use it on a enemy after you teleport from the Ice Queen Palace.

i forgot to add to the question,,,that the person started the turn with no spells though. the genie says that you should play spells as if they were casted by the character. so i was thinking the player might have to wait till his next turn to play the spells because he didn't start the turn with any spells. that was where there was a question

darthmax said:

i forgot to add to the question,,,that the person started the turn with no spells though. the genie says that you should play spells as if they were casted by the character. so i was thinking the player might have to wait till his next turn to play the spells because he didn't start the turn with any spells. that was where there was a question

This is one of the few Adventure Cards that the FAQ thoroughly clarifies, with not less than 6 Q & A. Have a look at page 5 and you'll find what you need.

To answer your question: you may cast the Spell when you acquire the Genie, because they do not count towards your Spell limit.

fast eddy is not signing in to his account, so ill answer his/my question myself. velhart did answer your question. the spells come from the genie so they dont count toward my spell limit. this means that it doesnt matter how many spells i had at the start of the turn you do treat them as though they were cast by me, but that doesnt imply that they should be treated as though they are in my hand.

The "cast as if by yourself" is meant to clarify things like the Strength Spell. That way, players don't go "Oh great. My non-combat Genie has +1 ST now" but it's really = the Genie cast ST, and you get the red cone. Overall, think of the Genie as a 3 spell 'freebie" that ignores limits, for your character.