Charismatic v. Makai High Noble

By MegaGeese, in UFS Rules Q & A

WRD072.jpg 72.jpg

Here's the caper:

1. Player A plays the F ability on Olcadan's Mentoring, giving Player B a foundation and attempting to destroy one.

2. Player B responds with Makai High Noble.

3. Player A responds with Charismatic.

4. Player B responds to Charismatic with the same copy of MHN.

5. Player A passes on responses.

Can Player B still respond to the original use of Olcadan's (because MHN was negated) if they have a second copy of MHN in play?

Yes.

[message = short beef]

Whoops, last part got cut off. The other bit was whether or not the copy destroyed by Charismatic would still be adding something to momentum. Is that static negated by Charismatic, or is it the response (and ONLY the response) that's being negated?

only the response gets negated.

Lemme get this right.

Owlface attempts to destroy a foundation, MHN responds to destroy itself.

Charismatic responds to and negates MHN. There's no point in using MHN again at this point, it's being destroyed by Charismatic now anyway.

The static effect (i.e. NOT A RESPONSE) of MHN triggers, adding a card from the opponent's staging area to their momentum. If the card being put in is the Owlface being resolved, it's effect is still floating so it will continue to resolve (I guess).

If there is a second MHN, there IS still the window of opportunity to use it to respond to Owlface. Until the foundation being targeted by Owlface is destroyed, then Owlface's ability has not resolved.

Yup. Exactly so.

Too bad MHN can't negate the negation of a Charismatic targeting something else =/

But regardless the effect of MHN would trigger to put a card into the momentum since its static wouldn't?

@scuba: Yup, when Charismatic destroys MHN it still triggers MHN's static effect, but it prevents MHN from blocking Mentoring from going through.

Makai High Noble can respond to redirect Charismatic's destroy part too, right? IE, I play Megalomania, opponent responds Charismatic, I MHN to save Megalomania

Wafflle - that is correct.