As a player started from the 2E, not until I got my own Millennium Falcon did I feel confused about the explanation given in the Rule Reference.
The Q&A is stated as below:
Q: How is Han Solo [Rebel, Modified YT-1300]'s ability categorized? Is it a dice modification? Is it a reroll? What is its timing window?
A: Han Solo's ability is treated as a dice modification effect that is not a reroll. Because it is a dice modification effect, when attacking or defending, it triggers during the Modify Dice step. Note, however, that it can also affect other die rolls, such as the roll to determine if a ship suffers damage from overlapping or moving through an asteroid.
Yeah, I fully understand that Han's ability is a dice modification, but the explanation of when it trigers in an attack really troubled me.
Shouldn't it trigger immediately after Han rolls dice rightly before his opponent modifies the results?
The official explanation is just sound like, no matter what timing window is indicated in the card text, because it's a dice modification, it always trigers during the Modify Dice step.
It is mentioned in PP10 (RR 1.1.0), the paragraph of DICE MODIFICATION , that "Dice modification occurs during the respective Modify Attack Dice or Modify Defense Dice step, unless otherwise stated."
Now let's just have a look on Han's card:
It obviously says "After you roll dice," and it is definitely a "terms used to indicate the specific timing of an effect".
In PP20 (RR 1.1.0), the paragraph of TIMING says:
" After : The effect resolves immediately following the timing specified."
The timing window when Han's ability trigers may cause problem in scenario like below:
In the extended turn, the Rebel player has his Han in the range 1 of an asteroid, with only 1 Hull point left.
The Republic player has his Plo Koon with 1 Hull point left as well in the range 2 of Han's turret arc but not in the bullseye arc, and in the range 2 of friendly Luminara.
In the Engagement Phase, Han attacks first and rolls 3 attack dice against Plo Koon, having 3 blanks as a result.
The problem now comes to the reality:
According to the Q&A, Luminara modifies the attack dice first. Since there are no Hits and no Crits, there is no need for Luminara to use her pilot ability. So she finishes her Modify Attack Dice step. Then, Han uses his ability to reroll all his dice, and has 3 Hit this time. Plo Koon rolls his 3 defense dice to defend, and sadly gets 2 evades only. The game ends.
According to my understanding of the Rules Reference, it should be solved like:
Han trigers his pilot ability to reroll all his dice first, immediately after his attack dice roll and rightly before the Modify Attack Dice step. He gets 3 Hits from the reroll.
After that, Luminara starts her Modify Attack Dice step, decides to use her pilot ability to change 1 of the Hits to an eyeball result.
It is then Plo Koon's turn to roll 3 defense dice. He gets 2 evades, evading the attack successfully and counter strikes back.
I hope the way how I resolve the effect makes more sense, and if it is possible, that FFG sees this and agrees, correcting the Q&A in the later version of Rules Reference.