Newbys need a hand!

By StanD73, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hi there, me and my 11yr old lad brought x-wing 2.0 recently and are really enjoying the experience. However, we could do with some pointers on certain elements, a lot to get through but reckon they can be answered quite quickly.

1. Bombs: just brought the y-wing which comes with the bomb ability. Now, we know when and how to deploy the device, but where does it state what effect if has once detonated?

2. Servofoils: Been wracking my brains over this one for a while, and we've not used it as very unsure. However, I reckon:

If closed before the activation stage, you can perform either a boost or a focus plus stressed boost prior to moving, then move, then perform another action from your card (if not stressed)?

At the start of the next round, you can flip the card to give you full attack capability.....is this correct?

3. Damage cards: Hull breach card states at the bottom, Action: repair this card. Does this mean that I can flip this card in the next round as my action (forfeiting any other action?).

Fuel leak card states to take another hit and repair the card (basically a double hit), so why does it state Action: Repair this card again at the bottom?

4. Build apps: We are being a bit fluid with the rules to enable us to get into it a bit at a time and make things to suite us, which I believe is encouraged. However, can anyone recommend a build app which enables us to mix craft from different factions? i have TIE's from Empire and 1st Order but can't build a squad. tried the FFG one to start with before moving onto the Launchbay Next app which is somewhat better (sorry).

Thank you in advance.

On 5/10/2020 at 9:35 PM, StanD73 said:

Hi there, me and my 11yr old lad brought x-wing 2.0 recently and are really enjoying the experience. However, we could do with some pointers on certain elements, a lot to get through but reckon they can be answered quite quickly.

1. Bombs: just brought the y-wing which comes with the bomb ability. Now, we know when and how to deploy the device, but where does it state what effect if has once detonated?

2. Servofoils: Been wracking my brains over this one for a while, and we've not used it as very unsure. However, I reckon:

If closed before the activation stage, you can perform either a boost or a focus plus stressed boost prior to moving, then move, then perform another action from your card (if not stressed)?

At the start of the next round, you can flip the card to give you full attack capability.....is this correct?

3. Damage cards: Hull breach card states at the bottom, Action: repair this card. Does this mean that I can flip this card in the next round as my action (forfeiting any other action?).

Fuel leak card states to take another hit and repair the card (basically a double hit), so why does it state Action: Repair this card again at the bottom?

4. Build apps: We are being a bit fluid with the rules to enable us to get into it a bit at a time and make things to suite us, which I believe is encouraged. However, can anyone recommend a build app which enables us to mix craft from different factions? i have TIE's from Empire and 1st Order but can't build a squad. tried the FFG one to start with before moving onto the Launchbay Next app which is somewhat better (sorry).

Thank you in advance.

great news! welcome to the community.

you'll need the rules reference. it can be found here: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/67/8a/678a909e-bd3b-4c21-9978-4218a253d07d/b_swzrulesreference_v110_-compressed.pdf

1. that can be found on page 22 of the rules reference, linked above.


2. the only way you can perform actions before moving is if you're coordinated or granted the action from another ability. other than that, you get your perform action step during your activation ("your" referring to the ship in question), after executing a maneuver. if you're granted an action from being coordinated or from an ability, what ever state your s-foils are currently in when that ability or coordination is resolved is used.

you can choose to flip your s-foils before you activate, as in during activation, right before you reveal your dial ("your" and "you" still referring to the ship in question). "before" is a defined timing, further described in the rules reference under the section on timing on page 19.

3. cards with Action:-headers can resolve what ever effect is stated after the Action:-header as an action, yes. actions are normally performed once per ship during the perform action step of that ships activation, after the ship has revealed it's dial and performed it's maneuver. there are several ways to allow a ship to perform more than one action in a round, or if you have linked actions, even during that ships activation. a ship performing an action outside of it's activation requires other abilities or the coordinate action to be used. but in essence, yes, you're absolutely right.

the design of fuel leak is in my opinion excellent, as it gives you the option to repair it yourself, if you have an action to spare. for example, you might be spending a round disengaging. depending on the board state, it might be worth spending you action on repairing a fuel leak and not risking that it resolves. it means you don't need to run the risk of taking an automatic (hit) the next time you suffer a (crit). to be clear, it's effect does not get triggered by itself. when you take it, you don't resolve it straight away. it stays face up on your ship card until you repair it, either by spending an action, or until it repairs itself by resolving the effect the next time you suffer a (crit).


4. lanchbay next is by far the best app for list building. if you're on a pc, you can also use the excellent yet another squad builder, found here: https://raithos.github.io/

currently, there is no real support for multi faction list building by any tools as far as i'm aware.

On 5/10/2020 at 8:35 PM, StanD73 said:

2. Servofoils: Been wracking my brains over this one for a while, and we've not used it as very unsure. However, I reckon:

If closed before the activation stage, you can perform either a boost or a focus plus stressed boost prior to moving, then move, then perform another action from your card (if not stressed)?

At the start of the next round, you can flip the card to give you full attack capability.....is this correct?

13 hours ago, meffo said:

2. the only way you can perform actions before moving is if you're coordinated or granted the action from another ability. other than that, you get your perform action step during your activation ("your" referring to the ship in question), after executing a maneuver. if you're granted an action from being coordinated or from an ability, what ever state your s-foils are currently in when that ability or coordination is resolved is used.

you can choose to flip your s-foils before you activate, as in during activation, right before you reveal your dial ("your" and "you" still referring to the ship in question). "before" is a defined timing, further described in the rules reference under the section on timing on page 19.

To clarify a little further, the only element of the s-foils card that triggers on activation is flipping it.

The symbols on the right of the Closed side are meant to be the same format as the action symbols on the right of the pilot card. This is because all those symbols on the right of the upgrade card do is to add the respective actions to your 'action bar'.

That means you are allowed to perform those actions whenever you are allowed to perform the actions on the pilot card. Most of the time, that means during the Perform Action step after your maneuver. There are no special rules with these actions, or different timings. For all intents and purposes, it's as if your pilot card just had more actions printed on it.

S-Foils (Closed) does not let you use the actions on its card before your maneuver. Each side basically just represents a state (or configuration, hence the upgrade slot name) that the X-Wing exists in. The s-foils open side doesn't have any text or symbols beyond the timing of when you can flip the card. This is the X-Wing's 'default' state, if you like - nothing about what is on the pilot card is changed. The closed side changes the 'state' the X-Wing exists in. Now, it has the boost and focus > boost actions, but its primary weapon is reduced by 1.

To put that in more general terms of usability, each turn you get to decide whether your X-Wing has its full attack, or whether you reduce that attack and enable a boost action for more speed. You must make this decision before you have moved your X-Wing. This is important for balance, it means you have to guess whether or not you will have a shot in your final placement, or if you might need to boost after moving to gain more distance or change attack angle, before you have placed your X-Wing. If s-foils worked after you had moved, it would be too easy to make the decision of which state is better because you can already see what you're pointing at. It means you have to fully plan your turn before executing any part of it.

On 5/10/2020 at 8:35 PM, StanD73 said:

3. Damage cards: Hull breach card states at the bottom, Action: repair this card. Does this mean that I can flip this card in the next round as my action (forfeiting any other action?).

Yes

On 5/10/2020 at 8:35 PM, StanD73 said:

Fuel leak card states to take another hit and repair the card (basically a double hit), so why does it state Action: Repair this card again at the bottom?

To be clear, Fuel Leak does not state to immediately take a damage card and repair. It says you must take an additional damage after you suffer a crit result.

The crit result that inflicted the Fuel Leak does not count for this. If they roll one uncancelled crit result, and you take a Fuel Leak because of that crit result, nothing happens. The card stays face up until either you suffer another crit result and the text on the card triggers or you use an action to repair it. However, it is possible for Fuel Leak to trigger before you've had chance to repair the crit. If you defend more than once in a round, and take a Fuel Leak after the first attack, then the second attack rolls a crit, Fuel Leak triggers. Though rare, this can even happen in one attack. If the result of the attack roll is two crits, and you roll blanks on your defence dice, you take those crits and resolve them one by one. So if the first damage card your draw face up is Fuel Leak, then the second crit result will immediately trigger it.

On 5/10/2020 at 8:35 PM, StanD73 said:

4. Build apps: We are being a bit fluid with the rules to enable us to get into it a bit at a time and make things to suite us, which I believe is encouraged. However, can anyone recommend a build app which enables us to mix craft from different factions? i have TIE's from Empire and 1st Order but can't build a squad. tried the FFG one to start with before moving onto the Launchbay Next app which is somewhat better (sorry).

Different people will offer different advice, and different people learn games best in different ways. But my advice would not necessarily to be fluid with the rules, but rather limit which rules are relevant.

Obviously if someone makes a mistake with the rules while playing, don't worry about it and don't let your game get hung up on it. But I would encourage you to make it a point of aiming to stick to the rules from the outset where possible, because it prevents bad practice from setting in early, helps prevent complications down the line and mostly because the game is balanced around those rules being followed, so it keeps everything as fair as possible.

What I mean by limiting the rules that are relevant is basically just suggesting that you keep lists simple, with generic pilots and few upgrades early on. Stick to getting the basic movement, action and engagement rules right first. It'll make everything that comes after much easier

That said, there's no real problem with mixing factions while you're learning, so long as you follow the above and don't use too many named pilots or upgrades. There are some potentially pretty broken combos by combining two pilots who weren't supposed to be allowed together. Running a First Order TIE alongside Imperial TIEs isn't a big deal, though.

I don't believe any squad builder currently lets you mix factions. Mostly because it would be a hassle to code for very little benefit. But you don't have to build complete lists in them. Just build two incomplete lists with the respective factions you want to mix, and do a mental check that the total of both lists comes to less than 200 points, or whatever threshold you're playing to.

folks,

Thanks a bunch for the feedback, in particular the part about the S-foils. As is often the case, after writing my original comments and whilst waiting for a reply, I re-deduced in my head how they could possibly work fairly and as it is, it was exactly how you described it! I also managed to come to the same conclusion regarding the build app, that is to build 2 separate squads and add them together (duh). To confirm, when I say 'fluid' I pretty much meant what you said, in that we have been gradually adding rules and abilities whilst avoiding ones we were not clear on until such a time we knew for sure.

Yes, the damage cards now make a lot more sense and can see that once they are explained better, the way they are worded makes complete sense.

thanks again!

We now have Lord Vader amongst our ranks and he comes with some serious upgrades. So many in fact, that were not sure we are playing them correctly or fairly. I managed to perform the following moves/actions/attacks in one turn with Vader, once again I would appreciate a casting eye to ensure we’re doing it right!

1. Darth Vader - Advanced Tie

Upgrades: Cluster missiles – Fire Control System – supernatural Reflexes

So, prior to activation and using Supernatural reflexes, I spend a force token to perform a barrel roll. I then perform a move (no stress) and carry out a second action (Focus). Using the skill on the pilot card, I spend another force token to perform yet another action (lock).

Now on attack, I choose to use cluster missiles. I role 3 dice at range 2 and in my firing arc. I then, according to the upgrade, carry out the same 3 dice attack again against another enemy ship at range 1 of the locked ship!

So, does all this sound correct?

2. Also, the rules say that a ship can be ‘locked’ if they are within range 3 in ANY direction. Upgrades such as cluster missiles can only be used if I have a lock in place, BUT can only be fired against a defender in my primary arc? This kinda goes against the point of locking missiles as they should be fire-and-forget, but I’m guessing it’s to make the game a bit more balanced?

4. Fire Control System – what is the point of this upgrade? If I have a lock on a ship, why would I not use it? I get that the lock stays on the defender until its used, but it just seems a weak upgrade to me. Your thoughts?

Your feedback will be most appreciated as always.

2 hours ago, StanD73 said:

So, prior to activation and using Supernatural reflexes, I spend a force token to perform a barrel roll. I then perform a move (no stress) and carry out a second action (Focus). Using the skill on the pilot card, I spend another force token to perform yet another action (lock).

Now on attack, I choose to use cluster missiles. I role 3 dice at range 2 and in my firing arc. I then, according to the upgrade, carry out the same 3 dice attack again against another enemy ship at range 1 of the locked ship!

So, does all this sound correct?

the actions are 100% right, yes. that's what vader's ability does.
Swz15_a1_darth-vader.png Cluster_Missiles.png

that's also what cluster missiles do, yeah. you have to pay a charge to perform the attack - and after performing the attack, you can spend another charge to perform the attack again on a different target at range 0-1 of the original target. the only difference this second attack, the bonus attack, does not require you to have a lock. it does still have all the other requirements, though, which is why you have to spend a charge to perform it - and the target has to be at range 1-2 of you and in your front arc.

2 hours ago, StanD73 said:

2. Also, the rules say that a ship can be ‘locked’ if they are within range 3 in ANY direction. Upgrades such as cluster missiles can only be used if I have a lock in place, BUT can only be fired against a defender in my primary arc? This kinda goes against the point of locking missiles as they should be fire-and-forget, but I’m guessing it’s to make the game a bit more balanced?

4. Fire Control System – what is the point of this upgrade? If I have a lock on a ship, why would I not use it? I get that the lock stays on the defender until its used, but it just seems a weak upgrade to me. Your thoughts?

that is correct, yes. a targeting computer works in all directions, no matter where a ships cannons or missile tubes are pointing. most missiles and torpedoes will need guidance to be fired into a three dimensional space and have any chance of finding their target, some can just be fired away, though. such as barrage rockets and proton rockets. such powerful but primitive weaponry does require you to be focused instead, though.

it's a great upgrade! i love it to bits. it's extra useful with the tie advanced because of the ship ability, advanced targeting computer. it's useful because locks are not round tokens, they are square. therefore, they are not removed during the end phase and stay on the board between rounds.

Fire-Control_System_Hi_Res.png

please note the most efficient use of advanced targeting computer. since you need to have a lock on the defender when changing one (hit) result to a (crit) result, if you roll any hits, you first need to change one of them to a crit - and you can then spend the lock to reroll any other results if you wish. if you have a fire-control system, you always get a free reroll when attacking ships that you have locked - and you don't have to lock that ship again during the next round if you don't spend the lock.

Once again, @meffo has got everything spot on. Just wanted to echo him and add a further voice of confirmation.

23 hours ago, StanD73 said:

So many in fact, that were not sure we are playing them correctly or fairly.

You might very well be finding out that Darth Vader is one of the best pilots in the game (as he should be), so for now yes he may seem a bit unfair. There are ways of dealing with him, however. I'm sure you'll pick them up.

23 hours ago, StanD73 said:

So, prior to activation and using Supernatural reflexes, I spend a force token to perform a barrel roll. I then perform a move (no stress) and carry out a second action (Focus). Using the skill on the pilot card, I spend another force token to perform yet another action (lock).

Yep, welcome to one of the most broken combos in the game.

There's a reason Supernatural Reflexes costs a staggering 32 points on Vader. Being able to barrel roll or boost before you move at the top Initiative of 6 is incredibly strong because it means you get to see everyone else move, see the whole board state and then have a huge bag of tricks for dodging out the way.

Vader also has one of the best abilities in the game. Being able to get more than one action a turn is basically the ultimate strength of all the best ships in X-Wing. Vader can theoretically get up to four .

You're currently playing this combination correctly. Alternatively, if you don't have Supernatural Reflexes (or you don't need it before you move) you can spend that Force token after your focus action to barrel roll, and then immediately spend another Force after the barrel roll to lock. There's no limit on timing (there is a card out there that lets him delay this action chain until the start of engagement - useful in certain matchups), and the only limit to how many actions you can chain is how many Force tokens you have.

23 hours ago, StanD73 said:

Also, the rules say that a ship can be ‘locked’ if they are within range 3 in ANY direction. Upgrades such as cluster missiles can only be used if I have a lock in place, BUT can only be fired against a defender in my primary arc? This kinda goes against the point of locking missiles as they should be fire-and-forget, but I’m guessing it’s to make the game a bit more balanced?

Correct on both implementation and the reasoning.

It was demonstrated repeatedly in first edition that giving ships the ability to fire anywhere in the range 3 circle around them was bad for the game.

Even then, missiles were front arc only (generally), but second edition wisely kept this to avoid missiles nullifying your opponent's movement choice.

If you need help justifying it, then don't forget that Star Wars missiles are based largely on air to air missiles from the 70s, where fire and forget wasn't quite the norm, and that if they functioned just like modern air to air missiles, they would (just like modern air combat) completely invalidate those big X-Wing guns and make all the dogfighting we love obsolete.

The lock is necessary because the missiles still need to track their target. Those agility dice, the evade action and the firing arcs being 90 degree cones are all meant to represent that the space you're fighting in is 3D, that ships aren't just following the limited maneuver templates and are jinking the whole time, and that the facing of each ship isn't literal - it's a fudge for gameplay convenience. Missiles in Star Wars are (I believe) slower than the laser cannon bolts, so without some sort of guidance they are easily dodged. Hence the lock requirement.

Usually the result of a missile or torpedo attack is more powerful than shooting them cannons, however, which is the balancing element.

23 hours ago, StanD73 said:

I then, according to the upgrade, carry out the same 3 dice attack again against another enemy ship at range 1 of the locked ship!

Yes, but as Meffo said be sure to remember it's only the lock requirement for the attack that you bypass on the second attack.

They still have to be in your forward arc, in range 1-2 and you must have an active charge on the upgrade to spend.

It's a pretty situational upgrade for its cost.

23 hours ago, StanD73 said:

Fire Control System – what is the point of this upgrade? If I have a lock on a ship, why would I not use it? I get that the lock stays on the defender until its used, but it just seems a weak upgrade to me. Your thoughts?

Fire Control System is one of the most solid, dependable upgrades in the game.

But I can see why it might not seem that way on Vader.

The only thing better than having a lock on your target is having a lock and a focus token.

Not every ship can do that as easily as Vader. Target locks do not go away at the end of each round. FCS means you can still get some benefits from that lock without having to spend it. This makes it easier to keep it until next round, where instead of taking a lock action, you can take a focus action. Now you have a focus token and a re-roll on as many dice as you need.

FCS becomes even more important on the TIE Advanced because, unlike most ships, locks give them an extra attack die. If you look at Maarek Stele, for example, he really wants to be a ship with a 3 dice primary weapon like an X-Wing. He basically acts as one so long as he has a lock on the defender. But he can only ever take one action a round. FCS means he can lock one round, get a dice modification on his attack that round (not as good as spending his lock, no, but better than nothing) and then can safely focus next round to hopefully get an attack with focus and lock, which gives him the best possible chance to do max damage.

But even on Vader, FCS is useful. Sure Vader can get a lock every round, but it's at the cost of a Force. You might want that Force token for other reasons. Don't forget you can use them like 'small' focuses on attack and defence. You might want to save some Force tokens to use on defence. Or you may only have one token this round because of heavy use in the previous turn and find you need to barrel roll. There's a number of reasons why locking every round might not always be the most efficient thing to do.

There's also red maneuvers. Sometimes, Vader will want to k-turn or pull a tallon roll. Even Vader's ability can't trigger while stressed. So if you can see a k-turn or t-roll coming, you want to set up for it. You want to get a lock on your target the round before and keep it, so then when you turn around you've still got 3 dice instead of two against the defender, and you've got your lock and/or FCS to re-roll blanks, and your Force tokens for eye results. Most people don't get to mod their attacks after pulling a k-turn. Vader with FCS and a lock from last round basically gets the same double mods most pilots can only dream of after a normal maneuver.

Gents,

once again thanks for the in-depth explanations here, you've certainly sold the FCS to me now I can see it from a different angle. Also pleased that i'm playing Vader within the law, just need my lad to stop blubbing now whenever he blasts Po out the sky!

locking - a handy action to perform, but not every round as it gets tedious. Trying to study the many upgrades that 1 ship can have and try them all out each game.

Another question came up tonight about seismic charges. Rules state that ALL ships within distance 0-1 of the object suffer damage...does that include ships from all sides including the bombers friendly ships?

43 minutes ago, StanD73 said:

Another question came up tonight about seismic charges. Rules state that ALL ships within distance 0-1 of the object suffer damage...does that include ships from all sides including the bombers friendly ships?

yes. in general, bombs are very dangerous. they can and will damage your own ships - and everyone elses. they blow stuff up. not very discriminating in their application, but of course, you can learn to fly around them.

mines are not that dangerous, unless you drop them right on top of one of your own ships only.

21 minutes ago, meffo said:

yes. in general, bombs are very dangerous. they can and will damage your own ships - and everyone elses. they blow stuff up. not very discriminating in their application, but of course, you can learn to fly around them.

mines are not that dangerous, unless you drop them right on top of one of your own ships only.

Cheers, nice one. Appreciate all the assistance.