Hello i d like a clarification on the max number (3) dice for XG-1, does that mean at range 1 if i shoot a 3 dice autoblaster ( bullseye) i dont roll the +1 die from Range?
XG-1 Assault config rolling max 3 dice
you first determine the number of dice that would be rolled, then apply any limit. since xg-1 assault configuration sets a limit of three dice, that limit is applied.
so yes, you only ever roll a maximum of three attack dice when you perform a cannon attack with a disarm token while equipped with xg-1 assault configuration. in some cases you would roll less, such as when attacking with autoblasters at range two outside of the bullseye arc, or if you had two weapons failure damage cards when attacking with a heavy laser cannon.
Yep. That is the limit. And i kind of agree with it. The 1E version of this made the Assault Loadout far more useful and economical over the Arsenal Loadout due to the fact that using the Arsenal used one shot weapons. Now that they can reload and have multiple shots, Arsenal is more useful, but you still need a lock on the target to use it (so have to use an action to get the lock, and have that target in your arc), vs Assault, which isn't limited in that way. So they had to put some kind of condition to even them both out.
So i lose the range 1 bonus??? i thought it should be.... like this :
1. HLC at range 1 : 3 Dice + 1 Range = 4 dice
2. Autoblasters (bullseye) at Range 1 : (2+1) = 3 Dice + 1 Range = 4 dice
I believe that range always gives the extra dice...
HLC can't fire at range 1, so you wouldn't get that range bonus either way.
An easy way to think of it is that any time you would be allowed to roll more than 3 dice with a cannon attack, reduce that attack to 3 dice.
Edit: this means that HLC is at 3 dice even when fired at range 2 or 3.
Edited by SwampyCr3 hours ago, topacesteve said:I believe that range always gives the extra dice...
It does.. then its taken away if it puts it past any limits.
The rule snippet that Meffo posted states, you start with the attack value (so for auto blasters, thats 2), then apply any bonuses, including range bonus (bullseye +1, range +1) So you are at 4.
Next, if any minimum or maximum limit is set, it is then applied. So Max 3. Dice pool is down to 3.
Range bonus doesn't override dice limits unless you have an ability that specifically states that it does.
In the same pattern, any combat dice roll already has an maximum total of 6 dice rolled (you can get up to 7 in certain, VERY select situations), and an absolute minimum of 0 dice (which seems logical, but there's always somebody who wants to argue that you have to somehow roll a negative number of dice). After all calculations, the Min/Max limits are applied. For example:
- Wulfffwarro (3 base), damaged (+1), at Range 1 (+1), with an obstructed Trick Shot (+1), and bumped up by Jan Orz (+1), would otherwise roll 7 dice... but the rules cap the roll at 6.
- A zero-agility ship like the Ghost or Decimator, with any number of ships with Intimidation at Range 0, being attacked by Wedge Antilles, could theoretically be assigned to roll minus-two, or even "less," dice. Obviously, this is not logically possible, so the total is minimum-capped to zero.
In fairness, I could certainly understand a house rule of sorts, wherein a ship that would otherwise be expected to roll a negative number defense dice, would instead have to roll that many attack dice, and add any results to the overall dice pool... but that's just "hey, what if?" homebrew game discussions, not an actual analysis of the game rules as they are.
On 4/14/2020 at 12:02 AM, emeraldbeacon said:In the same pattern, any combat dice roll already has an maximum total of 6 dice rolled (you can get up to 7 in certain, VERY select situations)...
Like what?
The game caps attack dice rolled at 6. I’m new to X-Wing, but as a long-time Armada player, I’m not new to the way FFG tends to write rules, and the 6 die cap seems pretty absolute. How can you possibly roll 7?
55 minutes ago, Cpt ObVus said:Like what?
The game caps attack dice rolled at 6. I’m new to X-Wing, but as a long-time Armada player, I’m not new to the way FFG tends to write rules, and the 6 die cap seems pretty absolute. How can you possibly roll 7?
I didn't word that very well. I guess what I meant was, "while your modifiers can potentially add up to 7 in certain select situations, the game caps your dice roll at 6, preventing you from adding more." I go on to describe exactly that with Wullffwarro.
Notable is that this restriction only applies to dice rolled; it doesn't take into account any additional results that you might be able to add while modifying your dice. For example:
- Shara Bey (3 dice front primary), at Range 1 (+1), obstructed with Trick Shot (+1), and boosted by Jan Orz (+1), rolls six dice, and hopefully gets a lot of paint on the table.
- She then spends a lock, to add a focus result, ending with seven results total, that she can continue to modify as she sees fit. Since the added result comes AFTER rolling dice, it isn't affected by the 6-dice cap.
On 4/15/2020 at 1:35 AM, Cpt ObVus said:Like what?
The game caps attack dice rolled at 6. I’m new to X-Wing, but as a long-time Armada player, I’m not new to the way FFG tends to write rules, and the 6 die cap seems pretty absolute. How can you possibly roll 7?
What he means is, 6 is the maximum you can ROLL, but that isn't a limit to how many dice you can end up with in your POOL.
For instance, you can roll 6, and have someone like Finn, *add* a 7th to your pool. Since it wasn't rolled with the other 6, it doesn't count toward that limit.
1 hour ago, Lyianx said:What he means is, 6 is the maximum you can ROLL, but that isn't a limit to how many dice you can end up with in your POOL.
For instance, you can roll 6, and have someone like Finn, *add* a 7th to your pool. Since it wasn't rolled with the other 6, it doesn't count toward that limit.
I recall an incredibly convoluted setup in First Edition wherein you could ultimately (after all the rolling and adding shenanigans) end up with nine dice in your attack pool. It wasn't practical in the slightest for the game itself, but it was hilarious to see when it actually worked.
You could get up to 11 defence dice I think.
You can only roll a maximum of 3 dice if you have a disarm token (reloaded or slammed). If you don't have a disarm token you will get 4 dice at range 1 in bullseye.
18 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:I recall an incredibly convoluted setup in First Edition wherein you could ultimately (after all the rolling and adding shenanigans) end up with nine dice in your attack pool. It wasn't practical in the slightest for the game itself, but it was hilarious to see when it actually worked.
Haha yeah i remember that. I Think it involved Wullffwarro, Kanan and Jan Oars or some mixture of that sort, and the right conditions to be met. Someone at my FLGS made it just to make it and see if it was possible, but yeah, it wasn't practical at all, and an extremly 'one trick pony' list.