Padme Amidala's pilot ability

By muzhyou, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I feel a little bit confused about how Padme Amidala's pilot ability works.

Her ability is described as follows:

While an enemy ship in your front arc defends or performs an attack, that ship can modify only 1 eyeball result (other results can still be modified).

I solve this ability in situations as follows:

While an enemy ship in Padme's front arc defends an attack, if it modifies 1 eyeball result of the attacker's attack dice, it will then not be allowed to modifie any more eyeball results of its defend dice;

While an enemy ship in Padme's front arc performs an attack, if it modifies 1 eyeball result of its attack dice, it will then not be allowed to modifie any more eyeball results of the defender's defend dice.

I hope this is solved right.

Yea, just realised I committed a major faux pas! Sorry! Between the snot in my head and the antihistamines I should go back to bed.

Edited by Stoneface
Correcting bad info
5 minutes ago, Stoneface said:

That's correct but remember re-rolls are not considered modification. So after changing one focus to a hit remaining dice can be re-rolled.

Re-rolls are very much considered Dice Modification, seeing as they’re under that section in the rules reference...

3 minutes ago, Stoneface said:

That's correct but remember re-rolls are not considered modification. So after changing one focus to a hit remaining dice can be re-rolled.

Well, I think rerolling are considered modification. @Stoneface

I just checked the Rule Reference ver. 1.1.0.

It does state in PP 10 that dice modification includes adding results, changing results, spending results and rerolling, while rolling additional dice and canceling results are not concerned to be so.

Thought I could make the correction without getting caught. ☹️

5 hours ago, Stoneface said:

Thought I could make the correction without getting caught. ☹️

This is the internet. No chance 😄

On 4/9/2020 at 7:02 AM, muzhyou said:

I feel a little bit confused about how Padme Amidala's pilot ability works.

Her ability is described as follows:

While an enemy ship in your front arc defends or performs an attack, that ship can modify only 1 eyeball result (other results can still be modified).

I solve this ability in situations as follows:

While an enemy ship in Padme's front arc defends an attack, if it modifies 1 eyeball result of the attacker's attack dice, it will then not be allowed to modifie any more eyeball results of its defend dice;

While an enemy ship in Padme's front arc performs an attack, if it modifies 1 eyeball result of its attack dice, it will then not be allowed to modifie any more eyeball results of the defender's defend dice.

I hope this is solved right.

that's a great question.

Swz40_padme-amidala.png

scenario one: can't from the top of my head remember if there are any abilities that actually affect this, but let us assume. if a ship being attacked modifies one of the attackers focus results, it will not be able to modify any other focus results during that attack. this also begs the question of who's modifying what, since there are abilities in the game that lets you modify other ships dice, without that ship modifying it.

scenario two: that's right, if a ship that is attacking padme modifies one of it's focus results when it rolls attack dice, it cannot modify any more focus results while that attack is performed. the ship attacking could still use juke (since that's not modifying a focus result, it's modifying an evade result) or crack shot (since that's not a modification), though. probably only relevant for this pilot currently, but who knows?

TieAggressor_Kestal.png

Swz34_barriss.png


some cards do make this confusing, yes. barriss could still use her ability on another ships dice, ignoring padme, since she's the one doing the modification, not the ship itself. she could not do it on her own dice if she's in padmes arc and wants to modify more focus results, though.

quite confusing really. ^_^

17 hours ago, meffo said:

that's a great question.

Swz40_padme-amidala.png

scenario one: can't from the top of my head remember if there are any abilities that actually affect this, but let us assume. if a ship being attacked modifies one of the attackers focus results, it will not be able to modify any other focus results during that attack. this also begs the question of who's modifying what, since there are abilities in the game that lets you modify other ships dice, without that ship modifying it.

scenario two: that's right, if a ship that is attacking padme modifies one of it's focus results when it rolls attack dice, it cannot modify any more focus results while that attack is performed. the ship attacking could still use juke (since that's not modifying a focus result, it's modifying an evade result) or crack shot (since that's not a modification), though. probably only relevant for this pilot currently, but who knows?

TieAggressor_Kestal.png

Swz34_barriss.png


some cards do make this confusing, yes. barriss could still use her ability on another ships dice, ignoring padme, since she's the one doing the modification, not the ship itself. she could not do it on her own dice if she's in padmes arc and wants to modify more focus results, though.

quite confusing really. ^_^

In Barriss's case, if she's not the attacker, I think she may change 1 eyeball rsult to a hit result apart from the one the attacker modifies, since she is not the one that Padme's ability restricts.

In Lieutenat Kestal's case, while he performs an attack in Padme's front arc, if he hasn't modify any eyeball results yet, I think he may cancel only 1 eyeball result and all blank results of the defender's defence dice, just because the term used in his ability is "may", while the term used in Padme's ability is "can" - "may" just offers a chance of choice while "can" sets up a restriction, as I understand.

10 hours ago, muzhyou said:

In Lieutenat Kestal's case, while he performs an attack in Padme's front arc, if he hasn't modify any eyeball results yet, I think he may cancel only 1 eyeball result and all blank results of the defender's defence dice, just because the term used in his ability is "may", while the term used in Padme's ability is "can" - "may" just offers a chance of choice while "can" sets up a restriction, as I understand.

Canceling dice is not a dice modification (Rules Ref pg 10)

In other words, Kestal's ability has no interaction with Padme's

18 minutes ago, Innese said:

Canceling dice is not a dice modification (Rules Ref pg 10)

In other words, Kestal's ability has no interaction with Padme's

Yeah, that's right. These two have no interaction.

I've mistaked since I haven't met many cases of canceling in the past year.

Anyway, for a player who started the games with 2E like me in a nation other than the USA, a more usual problem is that it is not so easy find a way to purchase a TIE/ag expansion pack. :P

On 4/11/2020 at 11:02 AM, muzhyou said:

it is not so easy find a way to purchase a TIE/ag expansion pack. :P

It isn't easy in the USA either.

On 4/9/2020 at 12:02 AM, muzhyou said:

While an enemy ship in Padme's front arc defends an attack, if it modifies 1 eyeball result of the attacker's attack dice, it will then not be allowed to modifie any more eyeball results of its defend dice;

While an enemy ship in Padme's front arc performs an attack, if it modifies 1 eyeball result of its attack dice, it will then not be allowed to modifie any more eyeball results of the defender's defend dice.

These seem correct, but it is far more common that the attacker/defender will only be able to modify one of their own eyeball results, as the there are only a few ways to force an opponent modify their dice. Juke, M9-G8, Saturation Salvo, Zuckuss, Bariss Offee, Luminara Unduli, and Plated Hull are the only ones that come to mind immediately, and not all of those are even relevant to eyeball results.