Questions on Journey up the Anduin

By Flrbb, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

Playing Journey up the Anduin for the first time. As far as I remember that quest was quite hyped as it was new.

(Besides using old sets, that quest seems not to be that special, right? (do I miss something here? o.O) )

Anyhow, I do have question on the mechanics of that quest. If I set up correctly, Goblin Snipers (cannot be engaged, if other enemies are in the staging area) are in the Evil Creatures deck. Also, the encounter deck contains Stray Goblin (cannot optionally be engaged). Both do have a very high threat.

So, if I have a Stray Goblin in the staging area, explore Woodmen Village and reveal a Goblin Sniper (to attach Haldan to). Then the quest somewhat get locked down. Bugged? Or did I miss something here?

38 minutes ago, Flrbb said:

So, if I have a Stray Goblin in the staging area, explore Woodmen Village and reveal a Goblin Sniper (to attach Haldan to). Then the quest somewhat get locked down. Bugged? Or did I miss something here?

The Stray Goblin automatically engages a player when another enemy engages him, so as soon as you get another enemy out (possibly by traveling to a location and revealing another enemy from the Evil Creatures deck by stage 2 effect) and engage him (both voluntarily or automatically) the Stray Goblin will leave the staging area and then you can engage the Goblin Sniper.

But yes you could take a while (especially in Solo) unless you fish some other enemies out from the encounter deck (Dunedain Hunter, Wait no Longer) or snipe enemies from the staging area (Dunhere, Hands upon the Bow, Haldir of Lorien)

Edited by Alonewolf87

Yea, that happened not me. Playing solo, having no special tricks within my deck and had to wait some rounds. Luckily, the second Spniper did not came up. :)

57 minutes ago, Flrbb said:

Yea, that happened not me. Playing solo, having no special tricks within my deck and had to wait some rounds. Luckily, the second Spniper did not came up. :)

Well hopefully no more than 2-3 rounds 😄

This happened to me on the times I played it, too. I think they designed stray goblin with goblin sniper in mind as they play off each other so well.

4 hours ago, Alonewolf87 said:

Well hopefully no more than 2-3 rounds 😄

Had a (stupid) round on top. Mindlessly traveled to Banks of the Anduin (which ends up on the encounter deck). Lessons learned, I'd say.

Anyhow, stage 1B has another curiosity - why do I have to add a resource to the stage and remove it right afterwards? I assume it is not a progress token, but a (money) resource token. I haven't found anything that interacts with it...

Edited by Flrbb
9 minutes ago, Flrbb said:

Anyhow, stage 1B has another curiosity - why do I have to add a resource to the stage and remove it right afterwards? I assume it is not a progress token, but a (money) resource token. I haven't found anything that interacts with it...

It's revelant since the second Forced effect of Stage 1 uses the word "then", so if there are no resource tokens to remove from the quest card at the start of the encounter phase you do not add the top card of the Evil Creatures deck to the staging area.

This could be because you failed the quest or because you were able (through encounter deck scrying and/or manipulation) to exactly match the threat in the staging area (or clear exactly the active location) and not put any progress on the quest stage.

Edited by Alonewolf87
24 minutes ago, Flrbb said:

Had a (stupid) round on top. Mindlessly traveled to Banks of the Anduin (which ends up on the encounter deck). Lessons learned, I'd say.

Did you do that before or after exploring the Woodmen Village (and having the Stray Goblin and Goblin Sniper in the staging area)?

Haldan attached to Goblin Sniper, so after exploring Woodmen Village.

18 minutes ago, Flrbb said:

Haldan attached to Goblin Sniper, so after exploring Woodmen Village.

So after traveling to Banks of the Anduin you should have gotten an enemy from the Evil Creatures deck, which I guess was before getting the Goblin Stray?

Hmm. You are right. I think I made a mistake at my game. If I had another enemy in the staging area I could have engaged it and with that also the Stray Goblin. Orly enough I do remember that rule, but it seems like I did not apply it every time. 😕

Well, time to play that quest again! :)