Strongholds with no units

By Rone27, in Runewars

Hi,

How do you consider a zone where an opponent has a stronghold but no units in it? Does combat occur if you attack it?

If so, would units get to do their specials attacks (necro reanimating, knights for tactic cards, etc..)?

What if there are units there but they're all routed?

Can you use strategize to take over it?

Thank you,

Rone

Rone27 said:

Hi,

How do you consider a zone where an opponent has a stronghold but no units in it? Does combat occur if you attack it?

Yes, it's still an enemy controlled area, and since Strongholds DO have strength, you would have to beat the strength of the Stronghold to win.

Rone27 said:

If so, would units get to do their specials attacks (necro reanimating, knights for tactic cards, etc..)?

Yes, all units involved would pull their cards, even if only one side has units.

Rone27 said:

What if there are units there but they're all routed?

Same thing. If there are only routed units, but no stronghold, then the attacker will pretty much auto-win the battle (though if the defender has some Rally Cry cards they can play them at the beginning of the battle to stand some of them up, so beware). But the attacker will still draw cards for all units involved.

Rone27 said:

Can you use strategize to take over it?

No, Strategize can only be used to move into friendly or empty areas, not enemy areas. Even if an area just has a stronghold or routed units, it's still an enemy area and you cannot use Strategize to move there.

Sorry didn't quite understand; so if all your units are routed, do you still draw cards for your routed units to defend your strong hold against the enemy while they draw theirs and fight as if it were a normal battle?

And if a Strong hold is all by its self, how does the fight take place? Does the enemy just have to bring in more then 5 units and auto destroy it? Or do they have to do at least 5 damage to it by drawing their fate cards?

Kayoz said:

Sorry didn't quite understand; so if all your units are routed, do you still draw cards for your routed units to defend your strong hold against the enemy while they draw theirs and fight as if it were a normal battle?

No, routed units do not draw cards. Rally Cry is a tactic card, which the defender still has the option of playing if all his units are routed. There are other tactic cards as well that might give you a little surprise when facing a routed army.

Kayoz said:

And if a Strong hold is all by its self, how does the fight take place? Does the enemy just have to bring in more then 5 units and auto destroy it? Or do they have to do at least 5 damage to it by drawing their fate cards?

The Stronghold has a strength of 5, which the attacker must beat in order to win. That means you have to bring at least 5 units to the battle. The defender might still have tactic cards, though, so if you ONLY bring 5 units and he has something up his sleeve, it's still possible you might lose. Granted your victory is more assured than if you were facing a standing army.

Think of it like this: The stronghold has a fixed number of guards. Just because there are no plastic units on the hex doesn't mean the stronghold is empty. This is what it's 5 strength represents - a certain number of defenders who never leave the stronghold, who are defeated if you defeat the stronghold, and therefore do not require plastic units of their own.

Kayoz said:


And if a Strong hold is all by its self, how does the fight take place? Does the enemy just have to bring in more then 5 units and auto destroy it? Or do they have to do at least 5 damage to it by drawing their fate cards?

You first option is the correct one. The attacker would have to draw cards and resolve them (damage and routs doing essentially nothing) and end with more than 5 strength (so again, the Necromancer's special ability could help in that respect). The Conquer supremacy bonus could help immensely here as well.

Steve-O said:

That means you have to bring at least 5 units to the battle. The defender might still have tactic cards, though, so if you ONLY bring 5 units and he has something up his sleeve, it's still possible you might lose.

As the defender wins in case of a tie, the attacker should bring in at least 6 units.

Graf said:

As the defender wins in case of a tie, the attacker should bring in at least 6 units.

Well I suppose that's what I get for not double-checking the rulebook first. I went on the assumption that the attacker would win ties since this game seems to favour the attacker in every other regard. Very well, 6 instead of 5, carry on.