Tarkin's lock range for ships

By topacesteve, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hello, does Tarkin grant TL even on friendly ships beyond range 3?

And can it be performed by ships without the TL action?

5 minutes ago, topacesteve said:

Hello, does Tarkin grant TL even on friendly ships beyond range 3?

Grand_Moff_Tarkin_Crew.png

actually, he doesn't, since he doesn't say "ignoring range restrictions".

2 minutes ago, topacesteve said:

And can it be performed by ships without the TL action?

nothing is performed by the ship. it just acquires a lock. no lock action needed.

41 minutes ago, topacesteve said:

Hello, does Tarkin grant TL even on friendly ships beyond range 3?

Its not super clear what you are asking here.
Beyond range 3 of Tarkin? His ability doesnt care how far away friendly ships are to him. He can grant a friendly ship a lock on a target ship, even if they are on opposite ends of the play area.

But as @meffo said, when acquiring the lock, the friendly still must still perform the steps of acquiring a lock. Which are...

1. Measure range from the locking ship to any number of objects.
2. Choose another object at range 0–3.
3. Assign a lock token to it with the number matching the ID marker of the locking ship.

Tarkin, is overriding step 1 as he forces specific objects (ship/s he has locked), which is also restricting what 'object' can be chosen in step 2.

He's also correct in that, abilities will specifically state they override if they do. Such as..


latest?cb=20180731223501

28 minutes ago, topacesteve said:

And can it be performed by ships without the TL action?

All ANY of the Actions on a ship do, is allow that ship to perform those specific effects. In this case, a Lock action allows the ship to acquired a lock. Tarkin is already doing this, so its not an action, nor is the action required.


I know @meffo has answered this with much less possible confusion, i just wanted to throw out the 'why' and rules referring it 🙂