Cluster Missiles

By Cpt ObVus, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So my friend was beating me senseless with Cluster Missiles last night. We came up against a couple of rules questions, though, and I wanted to make sure we were playing them correctly.

“Attack (Lock): Spend 1 Charge. After this attack, you may perform this attack as a bonus attack against a different target at range 0-1 of the defender, ignoring the Lock requirement.”

Two questions. First, can the bonus attack be made at a target that isn’t in the attacker’s firing arc? Zertik Strom was consistently firing missiles at a target in arc, then bouncing the bonus attack at a second target that was at range 0-1 of the original defender, but not in Zertik’s arc.

Second, is the bonus attack subject to obstruction rules?

1: No. The only thing the bonus attack is exempt from is the lock requirement. The core rules state that range and arc must be respected, nothing explicit says they're not, so they are.
2: Yes. The core rules say all attacks are subject to the obstruction rules, nothing specific says it's not, so it is.

Just to be sure, you are aware of the rule forbidding more than one extra attack per ship per round, right?

59 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

1: No. The only thing the bonus attack is exempt from is the lock requirement. The core rules state that range and arc must be respected, nothing explicit says they're not, so they are.
2: Yes. The core rules say all attacks are subject to the obstruction rules, nothing specific says it's not, so it is.

Just to be sure, you are aware of the rule forbidding more than one extra attack per ship per round, right?

Yep, we were observing the “one bonus attack” rule.

Thanks for clearing those up for us! I figured they could have gone either way, so I was just letting him have it, figured we’d sort it out later.

1 hour ago, thespaceinvader said:

1: No. The only thing the bonus attack is exempt from is the lock requirement. The core rules state that range and arc must be respected, nothing explicit says they're not, so they are.
2: Yes. The core rules say all attacks are subject to the obstruction rules, nothing specific says it's not, so it is.

Just to be sure, you are aware of the rule forbidding more than one extra attack per ship per round, right?

Actually, I just thought of another follow-up: When observing the range restrictions on the bonus attack, he’d have to use the range 1-2 restriction on the missiles themselves, right?

11 minutes ago, Cpt ObVus said:

Actually, I just thought of another follow-up: When observing the range restrictions on the bonus attack, he’d have to use the range 1-2 restriction on the missiles themselves, right?

Yes. The bonus attack is still a Cluster Missiles attack and is bound by the same restrictions and requirements of the first attack, except (as thespaceinvader noted) for the lock requirement, which is specifically ignored by the card.

Also remember that a charge is spent for each missile fired, not per pair of missiles. I made that mistake when I started.

13 hours ago, Droidlover said:

Also remember that a charge is spent for each missile fired, not per pair of missiles. I made that mistake when I started.

We were playing that correctly, but thank you for the clarification. 🙂

47 minutes ago, Cpt ObVus said:

We were playing that correctly, but thank you for the clarification. 🙂

He mentioned it because it not an uncommon question with that upgrade. 🙂