Interaction of Rip Dere 'Eads Off! with heroes

By plueschi2, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

HappyDD said:

I thought I read somewhere that developments were common knowledge, just like discard piles. Is this not true?

You can only look at your own developments, what your opponent has as dev is a best-guess scenario.

Just a biginner here, but are you guys sure that it is actually legal play to flip over an opponent's development? Rip says "Action: Turn one target development faceup. If it is a unit, leave it in play and sacrifice it at the end of the turn. Otherwise, sacrifice it immediately."

The first part "Action: Turn one target development faceup." seems to suggest that any development, own or opponent's can be flipped. However, both of the potential next actions (i.e. sacrifice turned up card either now or at the end of the turn) imply that the player playing the rip has/gets control over the card that is being turned over (FAQ say that for sacrifice, the player needs to control the card to be sacrificed). I don't think this is the case with the flipped development, which means the card cannot be sacrificed. So, is playing the tactic on an opponent's development still legal, even though it cannot resolve as described?

I guess it should read "...and its controlling player sacrifices it...". Poorly worded i would say.

Hmmh, still not convinced. Will move this to a new topic.