Buzz Droid placement after a Talon roll

By Croste, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Let's say I have a T70 with a buzz droid maker on the front of the ship. After I perform a Talon Roll, is the buzz droid marker at the front or rear of the ship?

They can go on either, as long as no objects are in the way. The droids' owner chooses which.

Buzz Droid Swarm text:

Quote

After an enemy ship moves through or overlaps you, relocate to its front or rear guides (you are at range 0 of this ship). You cannot overlap an object this way. If you cannot be placed at either set of guides, you and that ship each suffer 1 damage.

So per the wording of the card:

  • You perform the talon roll, moving through the buzz droids.
  • The buzz droids then relocate to either your front or rear guides, but cannot overlap any objects.

Usually the droids' owner would want to put them at the front again if possible, as that will mean the ship moves through them again next turn in most cases.

This post was redundant.

I was over thinking it.

Edited by Croste

Oh... I think I get it now... they aren't attached. I'm moving through them again.

Yeah, they're not really "attached" to the ship. They just relocate every time you move through them or overlap them.

This means there are a few ways to get a ship away from them:

  • If you barrel roll while they're in your front or back guides, they won't follow you because the sideways movement doesn't go through them. Same for sideways decloak or tractor.
  • If they're placed in the back guides, a forward maneuver doesn't go through them, so you can just fly away.
    • If you move through them and land in a position where a ship or obstacle prevents them being placed in the front guides, it will force them to be placed in the back guides, so you can fly away from them the following turn.
  • Similarly, if you're flying a ship with reverse maneuvers and the droids are in the front guides, you can reverse safely.
  • Flying a second ship through them will make them relocate to that ship's guides. It can be worth doing this deliberately to protect a fragile ace sometimes.
1 hour ago, Ysenhal said:

Flying a second ship through them will make them relocate to that ship's guides. It can be worth doing this deliberately to protect a fragile ace sometimes.

Or to get them off of a less maneuverable ship, and onto a ship with more reposition options to get rid of them. A-wings/Interceptors can be good for this.