What really changed on Wedge?

By drail14me, in Star Wars: Legion

What really changed for Wedge? I’m not understanding what changed. Both give a pivot. What am I missing?

Edited by drail14me

The old card didn't give a free pivot, it let you use an action to pivot up 180 degrees, as opposed to 90 degrees.

Now it's a free 90 degrees pivot.

Wedge used to give a full pivot for a turn, which would let you pull a 180 as an action. The problem with that is that you needed to use an action to pivot. Now it's just a normal pivot.

Under the old rules

If you use Wedge, you can use one of your normal actions to pivot 180 degrees.

Under the new rules, you can use Wedge to perform a free 90-degree pivot. Then, you can use one of your normal actions to perform another 90-degree pivot.

So, with the new Wedge, there's no change if you are pivoting more than 90 degrees, but Wedge can now be used to get a free 90 pivot instead of his old effect.

11 minutes ago, Caimheul1313 said:

The old card didn't give a free pivot, it let you use an action to pivot up 180 degrees, as opposed to 90 degrees.

Now it's a free 90 degrees pivot.

What gives the “free” 90 degrees?
The card says “Action: Preform a pivot”. Where’s the free part?

Edit!! Never mind! I was reading the symbol wrong!

Edited by drail14me
1 minute ago, drail14me said:

What gives the “free” 90 degrees?
The card says “Action: Preform a pivot”. Where’s the free part?

The symbol on the card indicates a free action.

Edited by Caimheul1313
1 minute ago, Caimheul1313 said:

The symbol on the card indicates a free action.

not free in that you need to tap him so you will pay for it if you want use it twice still not worth the 5 points

Just now, Fistofriles said:

not free in that you need to tap him so you will pay for it if you want use it twice still not worth the 5 points

Free as in it doesn't take an action. It is a "free action."

Just now, Caimheul1313 said:

Free as in it doesn't take an action. It is a "free action."

but it will take action to ready it to use it again so the old card may have been better

4 minutes ago, Caimheul1313 said:

The symbol on the card indicates a free action.

So then originally, didn’t he have a free “full pivot”?

Just now, Fistofriles said:

but it will take action to ready it to use it again so the old card may have been better

The old card also exhausted. This is a direct upgrade, though a small one.

Just now, Fistofriles said:

but it will take action to ready it to use it again so the old card may have been better

The old card also exhausted. You can get the exact same effect of the old card by using the free action pivot of the card, then taking an action to pivot again.

2 minutes ago, Fistofriles said:

not free in that you need to tap him so you will pay for it if you want use it twice still not worth the 5 points

Caimhaul already explained what a free action is, but you basically will never use it twice since Recovering to do so would be silly. I don't think it's bad for 5 points.

3 minutes ago, drail14me said:

So then originally, didn’t he have a free “full pivot”?

No, it had the full arrow, indicating you could take an action to "full pivot."

Edit: which only applied after taking a free action to activate the card.

Edited by Caimheul1313
1 minute ago, drail14me said:

So then originally, didn’t he have a free “full pivot”?

No. It just gave you the Full Pivot ability. You still had to spend an action to actually pivot and take advantage of it.

Just now, drail14me said:

So then originally, didn’t he have a free “full pivot”?

No. The old card gave him the ability Full Pivot when it was exhausted. Which meant that if you performed a Move action to Pivot, you could pivot up to 180 degrees instead of only 90. It did not give him a free pivot.

The exhaustable mechanic is overused in Legion. Honestly we forgot to use it when we first started playing. I think it improves the game to not have it for most things.

Edited by TauntaunScout
Just now, Caimheul1313 said:

No, it had the full arrow, indicating you could take a card action to "full pivot."

This isn't really true either. It was a free action to give yourself the Full Pivot keyword. Then you had to spend an action to actually pivot.

Just now, arnoldrew said:

Caimhaul already explained what a free action is, but you basically will never use it twice since Recovering to do so would be silly. I don't think it's bad for 5 points.

If the T-47 had more exhaust cards, then it might be more worthwhile, bit yeah, vehicles don't benefit as much from recover.

Just now, arnoldrew said:

This isn't really true either. It was a free action to give yourself the Full Pivot keyword. Then you had to spend an action to actually pivot.

Correct, sorry I did miss a step in the process.

1 minute ago, Caimheul1313 said:

If the T-47 had more exhaust cards, then it might be more worthwhile, bit yeah, vehicles don't benefit as much from recover.

Maybe HQ Uplink? Recovering isn't usually that good on non-Vehicles either, to be fair.

3 minutes ago, arnoldrew said:

This isn't really true either. It was a free action to give yourself the Full Pivot keyword. Then you had to spend an action to actually pivot.

As a new and inexperienced player with no real local experienced players, I find this whole interaction really confusing. I’ve apparently been playing Wedge wrong the whole time. Per the rules on free card actions: “If an ability is preceded by a free card action icon, that ability is a free card action. Free card actions do not count
against the two actions that a unit can perform during its activation.“ So I took it as Wedge being the best pilot could do a free 180. Made sense.

2 minutes ago, drail14me said:

Per the rules on free card actions: “If an ability is preceded by a free card action icon, that ability is a free card action. Free card actions do not count
against the two actions that a unit can perform during its activation.“

In this case, all the free action did was temporarily grant the ability Full Pivot.

2 minutes ago, drail14me said:

As a new and inexperienced player with no real local experienced players, I find this whole interaction really confusing. I’ve apparently been playing Wedge wrong the whole time. Per the rules on free card actions: “If an ability is preceded by a free card action icon, that ability is a free card action. Free card actions do not count
against the two actions that a unit can perform during its activation.“ So I took it as Wedge being the best pilot could do a free 180. Made sense.

One benefit of the new errata'd version is that it's far less confusing for people that aren't as familiar with the rules.

2 minutes ago, arnoldrew said:

One benefit of the new errata'd version is that it's far less confusing for people that aren't as familiar with the rules.

Agreed. It’s a lot clearer now text wise. However, for the best pilot in the galaxy, the ability kind of sucks. 😁