Outmaneuver + special attacks

By Skitch_, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Sorry if this one has been asked and answered already but I've never put much thought into it other than the implications it has on primary attacks. It should be a fairly simple clarification/confirmation I think.

How does Outmaneuver interact with special attacks that are V attacks? Does it work? Does Outmaneuver give Snap Shot (or any V special attack) the -1 green for the defender?

It seems to me that it would since Outmaneuver only specifies V attacks and not primary V attacks.

Edited by Skitch_

Short answer: Yes, it works!

Outmaneuver only calls out "Front Arc Attacks," and doesn't care what the attack is coming from. It could be a primary weapon (as long as it's a true front arc primary, and not a full-arc like the YV-666, a turret that happens to be pointing forward, or a Bullseye like the Nantex). It could also be a cannon, missile, or torpedo (again, as long as the defined firing arc is the front quadrant).

While there are very few ships that can take two Talents at once, you would absolutely be able to put Outmaneuver and Snap Shot together on certain Rebel or Resistance A-Wings, or on certain Nantex fighters. Just be aware that, as far as primary attacks go, Outmaneuver would ONLY work with the Rebel A-Wing (since the others don't have standard forward arcs).

latest?cb=20180604183408

9 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Short answer: Yes, it works!

Yep. Thanks for the confirmation.

Edited by Skitch_
15 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Just be aware that, as far as primary attacks go, Outmaneuver would ONLY work with the Rebel A-Wing (since the others don't have standard forward arcs).

True

It should be noted that, Resistance A-wings (well anyone really) with Snapshot CAN use that as their main attack during engagement phase instead of their turret weapon. So if you fly it well enough, you could, conceivably, use outmaneuver on a resistance A-wing more often than you otherwise would have.