Just wanted clarification on the Sage's 3rd ability to look at the top card of the Adventure & Spell deck. With the addition of the Dungeon and now Highlands decks, is the Sage allowed to look at the top card of these decks as well?
Sage Special Abilities
Coldmoonrising said:
Just wanted clarification on the Sage's 3rd ability to look at the top card of the Adventure & Spell deck. With the addition of the Dungeon and now Highlands decks, is the Sage allowed to look at the top card of these decks as well?
Yes.
presumeably thats only if he's in those locations?
if he's in the dungeon then he can look at the dungeon adventure deck
if he's in the highlands then its the highland adventure deck
and the normal adventure deck if he's in the outer, inner or middle regions of the main board
I would assume that the Sage is allowed to look at the top of any deck at his/her leisure since the character card doesn't specify that the character has to be in a particular area in order to look at that specific deck.
Coldmoonrising said:
I would assume that the Sage is allowed to look at the top of any deck at his/her leisure since the character card doesn't specify that the character has to be in a particular area in order to look at that specific deck.
The character card doesn't say that, but the dungeon rules do. So he may only look at dungeon cards in the dungeon.
redsimon said:
The character card doesn't say that, but the dungeon rules do. So he may only look at dungeon cards in the dungeon.
There's no such rule in the Dungeon Rules . Only to draw the card you must be in the relevant region.
Sage is allowed to look at the top of any deck.
Rimmer said:
There's no such rule in the Dungeon Rules . Only to draw the card you must be in the relevant region.
Sage is allowed to look at the top of any deck.
Uhm. Don't rules say that whenever you are referring to Adventure Cards but you are in a region, you must instead refer to the relevant deck?
"Special abilities and effects that apply to Adventure Cards behave differently when characters are in the Dungeon Region rather than the Outer, Middle, or Inner Regions. When used within the Dungeon Region, these special abilities and effects apply to cards from the Dungeon deck instead.
For example, the Prophetess’s special ability states that whenever
she draws Adventure Cards, she may discard one card of her choice and draw one more card to replace it. While the Prophetess is in the Outer, Middle, or Inner Region, her ability applies to cards from the Adventure deck. However, while she is in the Dungeon Region her ability applies to cards from the Dungeon deck instead." (p. 10)
More interesting situation is one where, let's say the Sage is at Chapel and rolls a 3. This enables him to land in Plains or Woods on the Outer Region, but also the first space on the Highland board. Can he look at the card before going there? That is to say, would these kinds of abilities take into account possible situations or just current situation?
Dam said:
More interesting situation is one where, let's say the Sage is at Chapel and rolls a 3. This enables him to land in Plains or Woods on the Outer Region, but also the first space on the Highland board. Can he look at the card before going there? That is to say, would these kinds of abilities take into account possible situations or just current situation?
This is the situation I'm more or less talking about and how I've played the sage when I have the chance too. Typically, when I'm playing the Sage, I'll hang around the entrance to the dungeon and bounce back and forth between boards taking the better option of the adventure deck or the dungeon deck since he could land in either area. Therefor looking at the top of either deck before making a decision. Maybe I'm misusing the characters ability but this is what it seems like it could be or how it could be used.
The Sage ability works "at any time", so you can use it when you wish in your turn. But you can't peek at the deck of a Region you're not in; this seems crystal clear to me. You already know which card are you going to draw if you stay on the main board, which is more than enough if you want to play safe or to take a limited risk.
When you travel between main board and corner regions, you may have a look at the Dungeon or Highland deck only when you've just left the main board. It's not really useful since you have to end your movement and pick that card anyway. It might be useful if you exit Dungeon or Highland and have 2 landing alternatives, one that allows you to draw and one which is a different space. In this case knowing which card you're going to draw is fine.
i think there should be clarification on this topic,,we always play that the sage has full range,,and can look at all cards of all decks
As I read it from Dam's quote of the rules the sage can only look at the deck for the board he is on. If he is planning to move onto a board then he must take a chance. In the example he is not "on" the highland board and so can't look at the highland cards.
H.
I think the Sage can look at the tops of all decks, regardless of his region.
There are many, many situations in which the Sage could suddenly change regions and may have some degree of choice in the matter (re-rolling magical portals by using a fate counter, and such). If he knew that the Hag was the top Adventure deck card he would do everything in his power to avoid going to a space that would require him to draw it, and he would flee to the Dungeon or to the Highlands (as happened in our game last night when my wife played the Sage).
The wording on his card does not clearly explain it. It says "You always know what the top card is on the Adventure and Spell deck."
So yes, the wording rule (if you're in the dungeon, "Adventure" deck means "Dungeon" deck) does apply, but what if you are about to move into the dungeon?
Interesting question. If the Sage is not moving into the dungeon and you think he wants to, it makes you wonder if that horrid Green Mist card is on top doesn't it?
Personally, we hate waste but we also like limits. I like that there is a "price" for going between regions. You don't know what that first card is. "Watch that first step" kind of deal. The lack of knowing all top cards on all decks is actually, as I understand it, core rules, as follows just by timing order.
Rules =
You know the top card of the adventure deck "at any time".
Apply adventure card related powers to the Dungeon cards when you are in the Dungeon (this part is actually in the dungeon rulebook), and to the Highland cards when you are in the highlands.
Sequence =
So, you are 1 square away from the Ruins. You roll a 3.
Before you move, you are in the main deck area, so you look at the top card of the Adventure deck.
You move your first space into the Ruins. You can, even though you aren't done yet, because it's "at any time" look again at that top card of the adventure deck. You'd LIKE to look into the dungeon deck, but you're not there yet. Sorry.
You move your second space into the Dungeon. NOW you can look at the Dungeon cards, since you're in the Dungeon Area. Green mist card. Darn. You wish you could immediately turn around, but that's not allowed as per the movement rules.
You move your third space into the Dungeon. "At any time" you can look at the Dungeon card again, but, sadly, it's still that Green Mist, so, the Mist hits you as you land.
The timing, as above, makes it quite clear for me, in any case. There's no rules for IF you MIGHT be in the Dungeon, the rules are IF you ARE in the Dungeon. Now, with a board name like mine, change the rules as a home rule if you hate it, no problem. Now, if you could double back from moving, then yeah, to simplify, I'd let the person look at all decks, just to save time. But until there's a way to step 1 step into the dungeon, and bail before you land, you go in the dungeon "blind".
Addendum = Now there IS a ditching rule. So, in the above example, you COULD before you pick up that Mist card on the 2nd dungeon square, ditch a normal sword on that spot, and you never pick up the mist. That's totally allowable. But you are committed to going to the dungeon first. You can't just look at the top dungeon and highland card from the main board, go "oh, I'll think I'll stay here instead". You have to commit to going to the new region.
But, change it at will if it bothers you. It is a game after all.
Tons-Home-rules said:
Personally, we hate waste but we also like limits. I like that there is a "price" for going between regions. You don't know what that first card is. "Watch that first step" kind of deal. The lack of knowing all top cards on all decks is actually, as I understand it, core rules, as follows just by timing order.
Rules =
You know the top card of the adventure deck "at any time".
Apply adventure card related powers to the Dungeon cards when you are in the Dungeon (this part is actually in the dungeon rulebook), and to the Highland cards when you are in the highlands.
Sequence =
So, you are 1 square away from the Ruins. You roll a 3.
Before you move, you are in the main deck area, so you look at the top card of the Adventure deck.
You move your first space into the Ruins. You can, even though you aren't done yet, because it's "at any time" look again at that top card of the adventure deck. You'd LIKE to look into the dungeon deck, but you're not there yet. Sorry.
You move your second space into the Dungeon. NOW you can look at the Dungeon cards, since you're in the Dungeon Area. Green mist card. Darn. You wish you could immediately turn around, but that's not allowed as per the movement rules.
You move your third space into the Dungeon. "At any time" you can look at the Dungeon card again, but, sadly, it's still that Green Mist, so, the Mist hits you as you land.
The timing, as above, makes it quite clear for me, in any case. There's no rules for IF you MIGHT be in the Dungeon, the rules are IF you ARE in the Dungeon. Now, with a board name like mine, change the rules as a home rule if you hate it, no problem. Now, if you could double back from moving, then yeah, to simplify, I'd let the person look at all decks, just to save time. But until there's a way to step 1 step into the dungeon, and bail before you land, you go in the dungeon "blind".
Addendum = Now there IS a ditching rule. So, in the above example, you COULD before you pick up that Mist card on the 2nd dungeon square, ditch a normal sword on that spot, and you never pick up the mist. That's totally allowable. But you are committed to going to the dungeon first. You can't just look at the top dungeon and highland card from the main board, go "oh, I'll think I'll stay here instead". You have to commit to going to the new region.
But, change it at will if it bothers you. It is a game after all.
This is correct tons!!!