SLAMming while Strained

By Ravenhull, in X-Wing Rules Questions

A ship has two Strain (or Deplete) tokens does a blue maneuver, then SLAMs using a blue maneuver. Does this clear both Strain, or does a blue SLAM not matter. That said, I think SLAMming red does stress.

4 minutes ago, Ravenhull said:

A ship has two Strain (or Deplete) tokens does a blue maneuver, then SLAMs using a blue maneuver. Does this clear both Strain, or does a blue SLAM not matter. That said, I think SLAMming red does stress.

The rules for SLAM state " The ship executes the chosen maneuver." meaning it follows all the steps for executing a maneuver outlined on the maneuver section including the Check Stress step of doing so. Strain does not specify what timing the blue maneuver needed to clear a strain token must take place. Those two combined tell me yes, a ship with 2 strain tokens that executes a blue maneuver and then SLAMs a blue maneuver would clear both tokens.

Should work. SLAM to a red move gives stress, this is the other side of that.