B-Wing question.

By librarian101, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can a B-Wing split fire. Say targets a and be are in arc. I lock target B fire my main weapon and target A can I then spend my target lock on target be and fire my equiped cannon?

Redacting the whole thing. librarian101 is right.

Edited by Opsmason
8 minutes ago, librarian101 said:

Can a B-Wing split fire. Say targets a and be are in arc. I lock target B fire my main weapon and target A can I then spend my target lock on target be and fire my equiped cannon?

Image for reference:

340?cb=20191223184723

Reading the card, I'm going to say both attacks have to be against the same target. You spend a lock you have on the first defender to perform another attack against that same ship.

2 minutes ago, nitrobenz said:

Image for reference:

340?cb=20191223184723

Reading the card, I'm going to say both attacks have to be against the same target. You spend a lock you have on the first defender to perform another attack against that same ship.

Agreed. At the time of triggering, Target "B" is still the defender, which you do not have a lock on, So yeah, both attacks have to be on the same target.

1 minute ago, Opsmason said:

Yes. Nothing says both attacks have to be against the same target.

After you perform an attack, you may spend your lock on the defender to perform a bonus [cannon] attack against that ship using a [cannon] upgrade you have not attacked with this turn.

Ummm... You quoted the text word for word, so I know we're reading the same thing yet reaching opposite conclusions.

Here's how I read this: after an attack there is 'the defender' which is the ship you just attacked. You may spend a leftover Lock on 'the defender' to perform another attack against ' that ship '.

I can't imagine 'that ship' being anything other than the one already referenced to earlier in the sentence as 'the defender' who you spent a Lock on after attacking it.

I read it as the same ship, but I wanted some input to see if I was following the language of the card correctly. Thanks