Tie/Ba fine tuned thrusters

By Lybo, in X-Wing Rules Questions

The ships ability mentions DEPLETE and STRAIN tokens, but what about STRESS tokens? Can you use the ability while stressed? While it does not mention stress either way people are split both ways as to whether or not it's allowed. Since it does "not" mention stress I think it cannot use the ability while stressed. Just trying to get an official ruling on this from FFG, hopefully.

e95d46ad3a22ad0790cfd18a7e10cf81.png.ed80ace87ed059e3cbf2892573323c11.png

No. You cannot perform any Action while Stressed. The ship's ability allows you to have an additional action during your activation. But it does not override other rules limiting actions performed. You cannot move, perform a Barrel Roll and then gain Strain to perform a second Barrel Roll, as another example.

You can if you can get around the overall stress issue. So, primed thrusters would still permit the barrel roll.

As noted by @Schanez above, there is nothing on the card that gets around the blanket rule of 'no actions while stressed' from the Rules Reference (v1.1.0) p3, first bullet point in the Actions section.

3 hours ago, JBFancourt said:

You can if you can get around the overall stress issue. So, primed thrusters would still permit the barrel roll.

Primed Thrusters image reference:

340?cb=20180803045353

Which would allow you to do that free Barrel Roll action while stressed, but still not the Lock action :)

And a boost too for your normal action. Pretty good really.