Contraband Cybernetics & Bumping

By Ravenhull, in X-Wing Rules Questions

We just had an argument about Contraband Cybernetics. A player was claiming that it allows a ship that did not complete maneuver (he bumped another ship) to still take actions. We argued no. He went by the wording giving a blanket ability to take actions.

Thoughts?

7 minutes ago, Ravenhull said:

We just had an argument about Contraband Cybernetics. A player was claiming that it allows a ship that did not complete maneuver (he bumped another ship) to still take actions. We argued no. He went by the wording giving a blanket ability to take actions.

Thoughts?

It doesn't allow actions after a bump. It just eliminates the stress limitations on actions and maneuvers for 1 turn when the charge is spent.

58 minutes ago, Ravenhull said:

He went by the wording giving a blanket ability to take actions.

latest?cb=20180817174105

Where on the card does it say he can perform actions no matter what? or Can perform them after executing a maneuver? or can perform them after overlapping, or that he doesnt skip his perform action step?

If the card/ability does not explicitly override a rule in the book or reference, then it does not override that rule.

The Only rule this card overrides, is this one found on page 19 of the rules reference under Stress.

Quote

A stressed ship cannot execute red maneuvers or perform actions.

Note that the cards overriding ability, is worded almost exactly like the rule it overrides.


And even with that said, overlapping doesn't prevent the ship from performing actions, it just forces it to "skip its perform action step". Since this card doesnt specifically say "do not skip your perform action step", then it doesn't override that rule.

Just tell that player to 'Do what the card says, not what it doesnt say'.

Yeah, he is saying “you can perform actions” negates even the need for the action step. And is being obstinate. Ugh.

RAW arguments are fine when kept in the hypothetical, but not when bringing this kind of nonsense to the table.

1 hour ago, Ravenhull said:

Yeah, he is saying “you can perform actions” negates even the need for the action step. And is being obstinate. Ugh.

If he thinks that wording means he can take an action even when the Perform Action step is skipped, then he isn't even limited to one action. "You can perform actions" is plural, so he can take as many actions as he wants.

And if this card lets you perform an action outside of the Perform Action step without a specific trigger instructing you to take an action, then what about the "and execute maneuvers"? Does he think he can continue to execute maneuvers throughout the rest of the round?

For other examples, you can point him to the Dauntless title, and Zari Bangel's ability:

latest?cb=20180731223627 latest?cb=20181115225301

Both of them give specific exemptions to bumping and still being able to perform an action. Neither of them, however, allow you to perform an action while stressed. They override one criteria of performing actions, but not all of them.

Additionally, on page 3 of the rules reference is the definition of an action, and when an action can be taken:

Quote

When a ship is instructed to perform an action, the ship can perform a standard action, which includes actions listed in that ship’s action bar, as well as abilities that have the “Action:” header on that ship’s condition, damage, ship, or upgrade cards.

Contraband Cybernetics does not instruct a ship to perform an action.

  • CAN = has the ability to
  • MAY = has permission to

With Contraband Cybernetics, the ship can perform actions even while stressed... the card overrides the rules restriction, that a stressed ship cannot perform actions. However, Contraband Cybernetics doesn't override the fact that a ship which overlaps another ship skips its perform action step... so while the ship has the ability to perform actions, it does not have an opportunity to perform actions.

EDIT: Additionally, it may be helpful to point out that, in the game, the opportunity to perform an action needs to be granted by a card or effect. Pilots like Lando (Rebel) can grant someone an action. So can the Dauntless title. Actions are also granted by the Perform Action Step. This step might be skipped, under various different circumstances; overlapping a ship or certain obstacles is one such reason. To that end, the ship is still ABLE to perform actions, but doesn't have the PERMISSION to do so.

Edited by emeraldbeacon
added another line of argument