“Ember” and only one enemy ship

By Synel, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Perhaps this has been clarified and I’ve missed it, but I haven’t noticed this point made in discussions about “Ember” I’ve come across so far.

image.thumb.jpeg.34a5caa722ffaa7604805a9142161501.jpeg

“Damaged ship friendly to the defender at range 0-1”... It doesn’t say “other” ship and the defender is friendly to itself. So, for clarification, this ability can work when ember attacks the defender and that ship is damaged, right?

Yep, it work's against the ship it is firing at if it is the only damaged friendly ship around it.

6 hours ago, InterceptorMad said:

Yep, it work's against the ship it is firing at if it is the only damaged friendly ship around it.

Specifically, a single ship can fulfill Ember's requirements, because of two factors:

  1. A ship is considered friendly to itself.
  2. A ship is considered to be at Range 0 of itself.