Lt. Rivas ability

By wsmith32, in X-Wing Rules Questions

This came up the other night and I was wondering if you could clear up how his ability works. Lt. Rivas card says: After a ship at range 1-2 gains a red or orange token , if you do not have that ship locked , you may acquire a lock on that ship. The rules says "when a ship performs a lock action it acquires a lock". The situation went like this. Rebel ship B locked Imperial ship A. Since Lt. Rivas is at range 2 and a lock is a red token his ability kicks in. The Imperial player then moves the lock on Imperial ship A to Lt. Rivas. I think this is incorrect as I believe that Lt. Rivas should get a lock on Rebel ship B if it is in range. A red lock token on a ship shows that ship is locked by another ship, it does not show that it is locking anything. Lt. Rivas may acquire a lock on Rebel ship B , but I do not think he can transfer a lock from another ship to himself. Transferring a lock is different than acquiring a lock. If the Imperial player interpretation is correct then I believe that Lt. Rivas is way under costed at 26 pts, as that would be a very powerful ability.

3 minutes ago, wsmith32 said:

This came up the other night and I was wondering if you could clear up how his ability works. Lt. Rivas card says: After a ship at range 1-2 gains a red or orange token , if you do not have that ship locked , you may acquire a lock on that ship. The rules says "when a ship performs a lock action it acquires a lock". The situation went like this. Rebel ship B locked Imperial ship A. Since Lt. Rivas is at range 2 and a lock is a red token his ability kicks in. The Imperial player then moves the lock on Imperial ship A to Lt. Rivas. I think this is incorrect as I believe that Lt. Rivas should get a lock on Rebel ship B if it is in range. A red lock token on a ship shows that ship is locked by another ship, it does not show that it is locking anything. Lt. Rivas may acquire a lock on Rebel ship B , but I do not think he can transfer a lock from another ship to himself. Transferring a lock is different than acquiring a lock. If the Imperial player interpretation is correct then I believe that Lt. Rivas is way under costed at 26 pts, as that would be a very powerful ability.

Lt. Rivas would actually have the option of acquiring a lock on Imperial Ship A, since it is the one that gained a red token. That's it.

He is not able to transfer the lock (No idea how the Imperial player got that idea) and he cannot lock the Rebel ship as it did not gain a red/orange token.

Yes you are correct it would be Imperial ship that he could get a lock on . thanks for the insight on this.

340?cb=20181108025058

4 hours ago, Innese said:

Lt. Rivas would actually have the option of acquiring a lock on Imperial Ship A, since it is the one that gained a red token. That's it.

He is not able to transfer the lock (No idea how the Imperial player got that idea) and he cannot lock the Rebel ship as it did not gain a red/orange token.

Yep. Rebel ship is not involved in this exchange.