Make a copy of xxxx the active location

By asgardianphil, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

The stage one setup instructions on the new Wrath and Ruin quest include the text: mak a copy of Makeshift Fortification the active location.

Sounds really simple, but as we all know simple instructions can be misunderstood and that can throw a game.

So does this mean

A) If a player picked it to put in the staging area:

1. You make that copy the active location

2. You leave that copy and take one from the encounter deck

3 either option as the players choice.

B) the players didn't put a copy in the staging area

1 . You search the encounter deck and put one in play

2. Nothing happens as one wasnt put into play

Taking the rules as-written, I think you could legitimately chose the makeshift fortification to start in the staging area and then immediately make it the active location. I doubt the devs intended it to work that way, though.

As for situation B, you’d still need to search for a copy from the encounter deck if you didn’t add one to staging.

I can't speak for the devs' intent, but I see no balance issue with playing with the rules as written. A solo player who choses Makeshift Fortification and then makes it the active location still has Ulchor and the Gate in staging, so will need to exceed the reveal by five willpower in order to clear the Fortification and avoid Archery 3 -- a tall order for a single deck. He's also now reliant on another location coming out of the encounter deck to clear the first stage.

From Caleb, via the CotR discord:

Quote

The Makeshift Fortification comes from the encounter deck. In a 4p game there should be 4 non-unique locations in the staging area after setup. Sorry that wasn't more clear.