Genesis Red

By Darth Darxide, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I’ve seen this pilot’s name pop up a few times the last couple days.

Does his pilot ability trigger after he takes a target lock action (although his ability says “acquire a lock”) and will his ability trigger even if he has no focus or evade tokens to remove?

8 minutes ago, DarthDarxide said:

I’ve seen this pilot’s name pop up a few times the last couple days.

Does his pilot ability trigger after he takes a target lock action (although his ability says “acquire a lock”) and will his ability trigger even if he has no focus or evade tokens to remove?

Acquiring a lock is something that occurs when you take a the Target Lock Action, so yes!

If his ability required removing tokens in order to fully trigger, it would read more like "...you must remove all of your focus and evade tokens, if you do , then..." However that is not the case, you can remove 0 tokens, and then receive as many as the ship you've locked has.

Thanks for the clarification 🍻