Obvious Tractor Roll Question

By Averross, in X-Wing Rules Questions

You can tractor ships onto obstacles, but can you tractor a ship into Range 0 of another ship?

I'm building a list with Kath Scarlet and a swarm of init1 blockers. My idea is to put Tractor Beams on a pair of Cartel Scyks and give Swarm Tactics to Kath so the Scyks can "course correct" an enemy ship into one of my generics and Kath can get the attack bonus. If tractoring doesn't work this way, I'll just remove Swarm Tactics and replace Tractor Beams with Ion Cannons.

Not really. Certainly, it won't be sucessful as a strategy.

If the tractor move is short, causes an overlap, the tractored ship just doesn't move. Tractoring someone into Range 0 is theoretically possible, since there is an infinitesimally small chance that the length of the tractor move is exactly what it needs for the ships to touch. However, it will never actually happen. So while the answer is technically yes, realistically and in actual gameplay, the answer is no, it doesn't work .

Edited by theBitterFig

Okay, so it's only legal if the tractored ship moves the entire length of the template. Thanks for clearing it up. Imma retool my list to use Ion Scyks.

The trick here is if they were already in base contact, and moved away using a 1 straight reverse or barrel roll, you could tractor them BACK to where they were, and leave them at r0.

23 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

The trick here is if they were already in base contact, and moved away using a 1 straight reverse or barrel roll, you could tractor them BACK to where they were, and leave them at r0.

Which is why its technically possible, but not really feasible enough to rely on it happening during gameplay.

Not now that the Nantex got nerfed into oblivion, anyway ;)

1 hour ago, Averross said:

You can tractor ships onto obstacles, but can you tractor a ship into Range 0 of another ship?

The answer (almost everytime) no has been stated, but just for completion the reasoning, RR:

Quote

The first time a ship becomes tractored each round, the player whose effect applied the tractor token may choose one of the following effects:
• Perform a barrel roll [...]
• Perform a boost [...]
This move can cause the ship to move through or overlap an obstacle .

E.g. a boost fails, if:

Quote

While attempting to place a ship to complete a boost, the boost can fail if any of the following occurs:
[1] ◊ The ship’s final position would cause the ship to overlap another ship.
[2] ◊ The ship would overlap or move through an obstacle.
[3] ◊ The ship’s final position would cause it to be outside the play area (and therefore would cause that ship to flee).

[2] is overwritten by the rule of tractor allowing it.

Therefore restriction [1] and [3] still apply for the boost caused by being tractored.

Edited by Singulativ
1 hour ago, thespaceinvader said:

Not now that the Nantex got nerfed into oblivion, anyway ;)

**** with the Nantex, the Quadjumper got nerfed far worse.

1 hour ago, Lyianx said:

**** with the Nantex, the Quadjumper got nerfed far worse.

Yes, but the Nantex is the most likely source by far of something bumping, then barrel rolling away ;)

Or was, anyway.

Edited by thespaceinvader
23 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

Yes, but the Nantex is the most likely source by far of something bumping, then barrel rolling away ;)

Or was, anyway.

Except that the roll only happens the first time a ship is tractored. Since Nantex roll off a bump by self tractoring they are ineligible for tractor movement again even if they do become un-tractored then re-tractored.

RR v1.1.0 p20 for reference.

27 minutes ago, nitrobenz said:

Except that the roll only happens the first time a ship is tractored. Since Nantex roll off a bump by self tractoring they are ineligible for tractor movement again even if they do become un-tractored then re-tractored.

RR v1.1.0 p20 for reference.

True, forgot about that little issue.

A Quad could tractor one the following round before it moves I guess? At this point the question's long since resolved and it's all just pedantry so why not?