Grim Reaper's Movement between the Regions

By rimmer3, in Talisman Rules Questions

From the FAQ:

Q: Can the Grim Reaper enter the Dungeon?

A: Yes. The Grim Reaper may enter and leave the Dungeon Region according to the normal rules for a character entering and leaving the Dungeon, with the following exception: When the Grim Reaper reaches the Treasure Chamber space, he must immediately move to any space in any Region (except the Inner Region) and end his movement in that space. The player who moved the Grim Reaper chooses which space he is moved to.

Does that mean that Reaper can choose really any space in any region, when he reaches the Treasure Chamber? I can move him right to the space where my opponent is and he meets him immediately? Does that apply to the Eyrie space too?

Is the Dungeon Entrance the only way to enter the Dungeon for the Grim Reaper? (And the Highland Entrance to enter the Highland?)

Any space in any region EXCEPT the inner region. So, yes, he could immediately encounter another character. I would assume this would also work for the Eyrie.

Mmm, maybe it;s a mistake..

I would say that the reaper can only teleported to a space where the (treasure chamber) mirror leads too. ( as instructed on the space)

Otherwise it makes no sense!

Reaper is powerful enough to bend the magic mirror to his will, thus enabling him to move to any space. Puny adventurers are so weak-willed, they can only go where the mirror shows, they can't force it to take them anywhere else cool.gif .

Wait, does that mean everytime the Reaper leaves Dungeon or Highlands he can encounter another character automatically if the player moving him chooses to do so?

redsimon said:

Wait, does that mean everytime the Reaper leaves Dungeon or Highlands he can encounter another character automatically if the player moving him chooses to do so?

That would be yes.

-Salute

Of course, in 60 games with the Dungeon, I've never seen the Reaper enter the Dungeon and reach the end. Few times, with the old ruling where he could move between Treasure Chamber and any exit space mentioned on TC (in either direction), sure he was in Treasure Chamber, but all the way from the Dungeon Entrance to TC? Not once.

I think that the Reaper will never reach the end of the dungeon in our games happy.gif

We've played it that the Reaper can pick any of the Outer or Middle exit points listed in the Dungeon since those are exit points players have to follow, and Reaper still has to follow normal movement rules (Can't cross the Storm river except at Sentinel / Tavern, can't walk through dungeon walls, etc...). We see it as "That's the downside of having a physical body on this plane".

Of course, now with Highland, the Reaper can pick any of the Eyrie exit points i.e. anywhere in the Outer or Middle Region, i.e. a Reaper exiting the Highland will automatically hit SOMEONE not in a corner board if you count right.

This may seem like a stupid question. But it has become a point of contention between a friend an myself. When using the Grim Reaper, does it cost the reaper an extra point of movement to move over the sentinel or the boatman space?

The rules say:

" Because it is difficult for both the Boatman and the Sentinel to refuse anything to the Reaper, he may freely cross the Storm River at the Sentinel, or from the Temple to the Tavern (or vice versa), at the cost of a single movement point for either. "

Translated one way it could mean that he can freely cross the River at this point going from the temple to the tavern for 1 point for example (which is the normal 1 point of movement for moving 1 space).

However, translated the other way, it costs the Reaper an extra point of movement (as payment / time to cross) to cross the river from the temple to the tavern for example (which would be a total of 2 movement points to go from the temple to the tavern space, 1 point to cross the river and a 2nd point to enter the tavern space.

HELP us end this duel once and for all. Thanks happy.gif

Regulator18 said:

This may seem like a stupid question. But it has become a point of contention between a friend an myself. When using the Grim Reaper, does it cost the reaper an extra point of movement to move over the sentinel or the boatman space?

The rules say:

" Because it is difficult for both the Boatman and the Sentinel to refuse anything to the Reaper, he may freely cross the Storm River at the Sentinel, or from the Temple to the Tavern (or vice versa), at the cost of a single movement point for either. "

Translated one way it could mean that he can freely cross the River at this point going from the temple to the tavern for 1 point for example (which is the normal 1 point of movement for moving 1 space).

However, translated the other way, it costs the Reaper an extra point of movement (as payment / time to cross) to cross the river from the temple to the tavern for example (which would be a total of 2 movement points to go from the temple to the tavern space, 1 point to cross the river and a 2nd point to enter the tavern space.

HELP us end this duel once and for all. Thanks happy.gif

Your first example is correct. It only costs the Reaper one point of movement to cross the river at the Temple or Sentinel space. That's it, no more arguing guys lol

Ell.

Tons-Home-rules said:

We've played it that the Reaper can pick any of the Outer or Middle exit points listed in the Dungeon since those are exit points players have to follow, and Reaper still has to follow normal movement rules (Can't cross the Storm river except at Sentinel / Tavern, can't walk through dungeon walls, etc...). We see it as "That's the downside of having a physical body on this plane".

Of course, now with Highland, the Reaper can pick any of the Eyrie exit points i.e. anywhere in the Outer or Middle Region, i.e. a Reaper exiting the Highland will automatically hit SOMEONE not in a corner board if you count right.

We use that rule too, that the reaper can only teleport to the spaces mentioned on the treasure chamber space in the dungeon. This makes more sense.

The Highland is indeed a better place, if players want to teleport the reaper to the middle or outer region. So, you can better choose the Highland than the Dungeon for the Reaper lengua.gif

THATS WHAT I SAID!!! YESSSS!!

Okay, thank you kind sir for settling that one. gran_risa.gif

How about the Reaper using the warf space in the city and going anywhere?

How about the Reaper using the warf space in the city and going anywhere?

He has no gold to pay the boat... but yes, this might be an option to make him get out of the City quickly. Needs an additional rule.

I suppose he will move to the Forest when he reaches Meeting with Destiny in the Woodland. There are no other movement options from there and he doesn't have a Path telling to do otherwise.

We've been playing that he needs no gold, he is the Reaper! and to make it deadly he lands on any space in the outer or middle region, almost certain to get someone!

I'm with DomaGB on this one. How do you explain to the Reaper that he needs to pay for passage? The book 'Bored of the ring' comes to mind. The passage when the dark riders tries to cross the river into the elven domain. No water to wash away evil here, just a plain old toll bridge and an old elf demanding 50 gold pieces per rider, which they can't pay and therefore are denied passage. It works in a parody book like this or perhaps the discworld novels but not in a game like Talisman.

I was joking... :) The Reaper rulesheet says that "Because it is difficult for both the Boatman and the Sentinel to refuse anything to the Reaper, he may freely cross the Storm River", so he may as well take a boat for free at the Wharf.

DomaGB's idea is nice. It might be a bit deadly because the Wharf is easier to reach than they Eyrie, but NPCs don't have an alternative way to exit City as they have in other corner boards.

It is deadly, but funny. Most people start running into the Highlands when or if they notice the Reaper or Werewolf is getting deep in the City. :D :lol: