Prophetess' Replacing

By rimmer3, in Talisman Rules Questions

Is Prophetess able to replace also a faceup Adventure Card?

Example: There is a Dragon in Hidden Valley. Prophetess meets the space. She has to draw two another cards. She looks at them. She decides to discard the Dragon. She draws the third Adventure Card.

Rimmer said:

Is Prophetess able to replace also a faceup Adventure Card?

Example: There is a Dragon in Hidden Valley. Prophetess meets the space. She has to draw two another cards. She looks at them. She decides to discard the Dragon. She draws the third Adventure Card.

No, that's what the Philosopher is for. Prophetess can only discard and redraw a card she draws during her current turn.

I thought so but then I've read this in FAQ:

Orb of Knowledge

Q2: If the Prophetess chooses to replace a faceup Adventure Card, can she use the Orb of Knowledge to replace the new card that she draws?

A. Yes.

Is that a misprint?

Notice anything odd in the FAQ:

"Q1: If the Philosopher chooses to replace a faceup Adventure
Card, can he use the Orb of Knowledge to replace the new
card that he draws?

A: Yes.

Q2: If the Prophetess chooses to replace a faceup Adventure
Card, can she use the Orb of Knowledge to replace the new
card that she draws?

A: Yes."

Why they added the Prophetess bit, I don't know. She has no such ability (to replace faceup cards). There was some discussion when the FAQ first came out about this IIRC.

It's clearly a misprint.

Cynewulf said:

It's clearly a misprint.

Yes, and they meant that the Prophetess can use the Orb of Knowledge to replace a card in addition to a card already replaced by her Special Ability. With the Orb she can draw, discard, draw, discard, draw.

It's not like I thought it should be played, since the "Can vs. Cannot" Golden Rule states that forbidding effects have priority over additional powers. If the Special ability says that you MUST encounter the card you've drawn as a replacement, I thought you can't use abilities that override that MUST, but in the end the misprinted Prophetess FAQ and correctly printed Philosopher FAQ have changed things.

I always took those "MUST"s as a clarifying point that you can't go back on your decision. You have a character that can discard a newly drawn spell for a new one that you "MUST" keep? We played it as it was just clarifying that you can't change your mind after the fact and take the original spell. But, now, in that example, you can use a follower that allows you to discard that 2nd spell and draw a 3rd that you MUST keep... unless you have another item / follower that allows you to try for a 4th spell, and so on, until you've used every discard option once.

Might not be as intended, but that's how we read all the MUSTs, and, somewhat shared by the Talisman makers, as evidenced by the prophetess + orb redraws. Personally, we hate waste, so, having a follower that mimics your ability, we try and make it happen twice. Even with the "Always have a spell" + wand combo, that's clearly stated everywhere on this board, the FAQ, etc... that it's NOT "you always have 2" is something we don't like due to the waste. Some are unavoidable (Dwarf + Gnome dropping an extra dice is basically handing him the game), but, overall, we play it as "MUST' = can't go back and change your mind.