4 hours ago, Maui. said:If common sense isn't enough, this makes it clear that a cloak token is removed when decloaking.
I mean, it is for me, but you know how the community is. Sometimes common sense gets overruled by loophole hunters.
4 hours ago, Maui. said:If common sense isn't enough, this makes it clear that a cloak token is removed when decloaking.
I mean, it is for me, but you know how the community is. Sometimes common sense gets overruled by loophole hunters.
6 hours ago, Lyianx said:It doesnt say you *must* spend a token to decloak, only that you may, and When you Decloak, you choose an effect. So if another ability tells you to decloak, its not relying on you having a cloak token. Just like you do not need a boost action when an ability tells you to Boost (Sabine Tie).
When you perform an action, it resolves an effect. When you spend a cloak token, it resolve the Decloak effect. But resolving that decloak effect isnt strictly tied to require the cloak token... as its currently written.
See what im getting at? Cloaking device is saying "roll, and if you get [focus], then Declaok. It doesnt say you have to spend your cloak token in order to do it.
Do i think thats how it should work? Obviously not.
If you can counter this, please do, because i want there to be a more clear ruling that debunks what i just said.
The rule you stated said that a "ship may spend its cloak token to decloak." That seems to very clearly follow the cost --> effect pattern... the ONLY way you are allowed to decloak is to spend a cloak token. So, for a ship with cloaking device to be able to decloak, it needs to have a cloak token to spend. Can't pay the cost? You can't get the effect.
At least, that's how I'd argue it if someone tried to pull those shenanigans.
Edited by emeraldbeacon11 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:The rule you stated said that a "ship may spend its cloak token to decloak." That seems to very clearly follow the cost --> effect pattern... the ONLY way you are allowed to decloak is to spend a cloak token. So, for a ship with cloaking device to be able to decloak, it needs to have a cloak token to spend. Can't pay the cost? You can't get the effect.
At least, that's how I'd argue it if someone tried to pull those shenanigans.
But as I said, that similar wording is found else ware.
QuoteWhen a ship performs the [coordinate] action, it coordinates.
When a ship performs the [calculate] action, it gains one calculate token.
When a small ship performs a [barrel roll] action, it barrel rolls by following these steps:
cloaked ship may spend its cloak token to decloak. When a small ship decloaks, it must choose one of the following effects
I guess i an argument for these as all using the same phrasing. Something granting you an ability, then you follow the steps of the ability. Spending a cloak token, granting you the ability to Decloak, just as performing barrel roll action grants you the ability to barrel roll.
And so its possible someone may (honestly) argue that the Cloaking Device is granting you the ability to decloak, without needing to spend the cloak token or even having a cloak token. Which is why i suggested the upgrade needs to qualify it with making sure the ship is cloaked in the first place. Logically, i know it already implied, but as i said in my previous post, people (especially at competitive tournaments) like to nit pick phrasing and i can see someone doing that for this upgrade. I'm just trying to get ahead of it now.
This response has no more sense. No need to publish it. Sorry
Edited by Red Troll