Decloaking

By gjnido, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can a ship with a Cloak token but without the Cloak action Decloak?

Absolutely! Decloaking is a function of being cloaked, not of having the cloak action.

cool

Now I just have to figure out how to best exploit Rey's and Poe's new cloaking device.

28 minutes ago, gjnido said:

Now I just have to figure out how to best exploit Rey's and Poe's new cloaking device.

Go on...

Edit: Oh yea Holdo w/ Cloaking on a Fireball...

Edited by Innese
10 minutes ago, Innese said:

Go on...

Edit: Oh yea Holdo w/ Cloaking on a Fireball...

Correct.

Something like this:

Colossus Station Mechanic (26)
Contraband Cybernetics (2) Cloaking Device
Advanced SLAM (3)

Rey (70)
Amilyn Holdo (8)
Korr Sella (6)
Finn (10)
Rey’s Millennium Falcon (2)

Poe Dameron (68)
Heroic (1)
R4 Astromech (2)
Integrated S-Foils (0)
Jamming Beam (0)
Total: 198

View in Yet Another Squad Builder 2.0

Round 1:

Fireball cloaks.

Holdo takes token to Rey.

Round 2:

Poe shoots.

Holdo gives token to Poe so that Rey can shoot.

Round 3:

Poe can decloak or disengage with 4 green dice

Edited by gjnido
16 minutes ago, Innese said:

Go on...

Edit: Oh yea Holdo w/ Cloaking on a Fireball...

Yay... They yank the base size bypass shenanigans from S&V and give them to the Resistance. @gjnido this will work with Holdo on a GR-75 as well, you just can't reposition when you spend the token to decloak.

3 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Absolutely! Decloaking is a function of being cloaked, not of having the cloak action.

Just for reference, RR pg 8

Quote

A ship is cloaked while it has a cloak token. Cloak tokens are blue tokens.

During the System Phase, each cloaked ship may spend its cloak token to decloak .

Its entirely based on the token and mechanical status of the ship (which is represented by the token).

In much the same way a ship without an Evade action, can gain an evade token by some other means, and trigger Juke.

Edited by Lyianx
16 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

Yay... They yank the base size bypass shenanigans from S&V and give them to the Resistance. @gjnido this will work with Holdo on a GR-75 as well, you just can't reposition when you spend the token to decloak.

At this point they might as well just rip off the band-aid and make S&V a mercenary faction, because it's clear we're not allowed anything unique or fun -_-;

5 hours ago, RejjeN said:

At this point they might as well just rip off the band-aid and make S&V a mercenary faction

This would be an absolute nightmare to balance.

1 hour ago, Hiemfire said:

This would be an absolute nightmare to balance.

I'm not serious and I'd not want it to happen, but I'm getting annoyed by how every other faction takes what defined scum and makes it better, meanwhile scum gets nerfed because of those other things...

Can you decloak while stressed?

13 minutes ago, Rettere said:

Can you decloak while stressed?

Yes.

7 hours ago, Rettere said:

Can you decloak while stressed?

To add to @thespaceinvader , decloaking is not an action, and thus can be performed while stressed, ionized, etc. All other effects tied to stress are also applicable, though, so if you intend to use the TIE Phantom's ship ability, you would be unable to perform the relevant evade action.

300?cb=20180913215411

It's also relevant to mention that while not an action, decloaking is a form of boosting or barrel rolling, NOT a maneuver. To that end, you cannot decloak onto or through any obstacle (without an upgrade that permits it, like Collision Detector); attempting to do so "fails" the decloak, and you are disallowed from attempting a different direction.

Wait for it...

Can my star fortress (with holdo) decloak then drop a bomb?

6 minutes ago, Rettere said:

Wait for it...

Can my star fortress (with holdo) decloak then drop a bomb?

Rules Reference Page 8, Cloak, Last bullet point.

"• Each ship cannot drop or launch a device during the same phase that it decloaked."

The argument you're referencing is dropping first then decloaking.

13 hours ago, Rettere said:

Wait for it...

Can my star fortress (with holdo) decloak then drop a bomb?

13 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

Rules Reference Page 8, Cloak, Last bullet point.

"• Each ship cannot drop or launch a device during the same phase that it decloaked."

The argument you're referencing is dropping first then decloaking.

You could though have Edon Kappehl's starfortress decloak, and then drop a device in the activation phase after moving. Bonus, include Leia in your squad to make the reds white and drop a device after any (fully executed) maneuver on his dial including a stop.

7 minutes ago, Something Wicked said:

You could though have Edon Kappehl's starfortress decloak, and then drop a device in the activation phase after moving. Bonus, include Leia in your squad to make the reds white and drop a device after any (fully executed) maneuver on his dial including a stop.

👍 They're the an exception due to the drop not being in the same Phase as the decloak, though doing a stop and then dropping isn't the smartest idea unless it can deal allot more damage than they would take. Preferably you want to destroy at least 1 enemy ship with the drop if done that way. Another exception is a Cloaking Device equipped Scum Y-Wing with Genius in the Astromech slot.

Edited by Hiemfire
20 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

Rules Reference Page 8, Cloak, Last bullet point.

"• Each ship cannot drop or launch a device during the same phase that it decloaked."

The argument you're referencing is dropping first then decloaking.

Ah-! I thought I remembered this rule but couldn’t find it. Thanks!

So what happens with the text of Cloaking Device when the token is no longer present? Does the new ship, which doesnt have CD equipped, roll to see if it gets an eyeball and is forced to decloak? Or does CD go defunct until the ship with that upgrade card spends the 2nd charge to cloak again - at which point 2 ships might be cloaked. Weird

15 minutes ago, mcintma said:

So what happens with the text of Cloaking Device when the token is no longer present? Does the new ship, which doesnt have CD equipped, roll to see if it gets an eyeball and is forced to decloak? Or does CD go defunct until the ship with that upgrade card spends the 2nd charge to cloak again - at which point 2 ships might be cloaked. Weird

Bolded the answer. If you don't have the upgrade equipped you don't do the check.

latest?cb=20180817174604

10 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

Bolded the answer. If you don't have the upgrade equipped you don't do the check.

latest?cb=20180817174604

The card is missing some text that *should* be there. It really should say "At the start of the planning phase, if you are cloaked, roll 1 attack die......" That or "On a [focus] result, spend your cloak token to decloak or discard it".

5 hours ago, Lyianx said:

The card is missing some text that *should* be there. It really should say "At the start of the planning phase, if you are cloaked, roll 1 attack die......" That or "On a [focus] result, spend your cloak token to decloak or discard it".

Your suggested text isn't really needed... it would only prevent the technical need to roll while not cloaked. As it stands, yes, you need to roll for cloaking device EVERY planning phase, cloaked or not; while you are not cloaked, though, the roll has zero consequence (you can neither decloak nor discard a cloak token while you have no cloak token), so most players skip the step for the sake of convenience.

3 hours ago, emeraldbeacon said:

the roll has zero consequence (you can neither decloak

Unfortunately, with the current wording, you do not need a cloak token in order to decloak.

Quote

During the System Phase, each cloaked ship may spend its cloak token to decloak. When a small ship decloaks , it must choose one of the following effects:

It doesnt say you *must* spend a token to decloak, only that you may, and When you Decloak, you choose an effect. So if another ability tells you to decloak, its not relying on you having a cloak token. Just like you do not need a boost action when an ability tells you to Boost (Sabine Tie).

When you perform an action, it resolves an effect. When you spend a cloak token, it resolve the Decloak effect. But resolving that decloak effect isnt strictly tied to require the cloak token... as its currently written.

See what im getting at? Cloaking device is saying "roll, and if you get [focus], then Declaok. It doesnt say you have to spend your cloak token in order to do it.

Do i think thats how it should work? Obviously not.

If you can counter this, please do, because i want there to be a more clear ruling that debunks what i just said.

Edited by Lyianx
Quote

• If a decloak fails, the ship is returned to its prior position before it attempted the decloak and the cloak token is not removed.

If common sense isn't enough, this makes it clear that a cloak token is removed when decloaking.