Dice Modification - rerolls, tokens and what else?

By Schanez, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Building a new Hyperspace squad of a three ship Rebel idea I have. And a question occurred to me, to which I cannot find a straight answer. What counts as dice modification?

I am thinking of giving Thane Kyrrel the Snapshot talent and was wondering, if the attack result is a Hit and Focus, can he use his pilot ability to spend the Focus to flip a card?

In Rules Reference it is clearly stated, that dice modifications are: adding dice, changing dice result, rerolling dice, spanding dice. Which would probably answer the question. But then I caught a hint of a "Starfortress errata", that supposedly states, spending die result is not modifying dice. So I came here to clarify the issue.

Is it, or is it not?

Screenshot-20200116-124129.jpg

latest?cb=20180611171416

thane's ability is definitely a dice modification. what is this star fortress errata of which you speak?

2 hours ago, Schanez said:

but then I caught a hint of a "Starfortress errata", that supposedly states, spending die result is not modifying dice. So I came here to clarify the issue.

1 hour ago, meffo said:

thane's ability is definitely a dice modification. what is this star fortress errata of which you speak?

The only thing i can see from the MG-100 that might be related is Cat
latest?cb=20181213145341

Which i will say, Rolling Additional or fewer dice is NOT a modification. But she only applies that to primary attacks so it wouldn't affect snapshot anyway. Everything else has to do with bombs and not dice.

I couldn't find the exact wording, just some note on one of the X-Wing wikis, that since the Starfortress release, spending dice is not counted as modification. So I will assume Thane does not work with Snapshot.

Just now, Schanez said:

I couldn't find the exact wording, just some note on one of the X-Wing wikis, that since the Starfortress release, spending dice is not counted as modification. So I will assume Thane does not work with Snapshot.

This might be referring to 1e rules, there was a ruling about it for 1e.

1e is not 2e, the 2e rules are very clear; spending dice is a type of modification, so it is not possible to do if you're using Snap Shot.