Tarkin- can he give ships without TL a TL? like Tie Fighters

By Blail Blerg, in X-Wing Rules Questions

as above

Acquiring a lock (as per Tarkin's card, which someone will no doubt post for context) does not require the ship to have the Lock action on their action bar.

So, yes. Using Tarkin's ability can allow TIE Fighters to acquire a lock on a ship, even though they do not have the lock action themselves.

latest?cb=20180731223156

While other ships that he affects do not require the lock action, the ship HE is on does.

Which sadly excludes a stock Lambda- class shuttle.

16 minutes ago, Singulativ said:

Which sadly excludes a stock Lambda- class shuttle.

And Tie Reapers. You'd have to add Targeting Computer on them first to have him.

latest?cb=20190813212528

Or Director Krennic.

latest?cb=20180510042634

Side note: Since Tarkin does not have any special permissions on range built into his card, the ships acquiring the lock still need to be within range 0-3 of the target, to acquire said lock. This is why Tarkin is frequently used in conjunction with Colonel Jendon , who can establish Tarkin's lock during round one, and prepping his team for locks at an opportune time.

340?cb=20180913211305