Front Arc Symbol: Location, or Weapon?

By emeraldbeacon, in X-Wing Rules Questions

A question about how certain abilities work, with that infamous "front arc" symbol that means two contrary things. The abilities in question: Fang Fighters and their Concordia Faceoff ability, and cards like Fearless (both linked below).

Both of these cards call out, "if you are in the [other ship's] [Front Arc symbol]," that you gain some benefit. My question is, does this indicate a printed front arc primary weapon (or one granted via a card, like Moldy Crow)? OR, does it simply care about your ship's position in relation to the enemy?

340?cb=20180709174559 340?cb=20180510043212

It's on a case-by-case basis.

//

With Concordia Faceoff, the Front-Arc-Symbol (FAS) the location. Works against a turret with the gun pointing forward. The key to it is "in the attacker's FAS" or "in the defender's FAS." That preposition "in" informs us that this is about location and not the weapon. If Fenn or any other Fang with Concordia Faceoff is in that front arc location, the kind of attack won't matter: turret pointing forwards; turret pointing sideways, but you just happen to be there; missile weapon; & such.

With Fearless? One of each--weapon and location--on the same card. It requires that the Scum ship with the Talent be using a FAS primary attack such as the primary weapon of a Fang or Moldy Crow HWK. The key word here is "FAS attack." Primary also matters, so Dengar with an Ion Cannon won't get any mileage out of Fearless.

However, the Fearless ship needs only be in the front arc of the defender. Again, it's "in the defender's FAS," so location not weapon. It would work while attacking, say Dash Rendar.

No it doesn't have contrary meanings. It merely means "front arc". The other words in the statements it is part of indicate if the ability requires an attack type or location.