Ignition attack question

By RapidReload, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

So my question relates to the german ignition attack rule inlay that states (translated by me):

"If the ignition token is on the field, the corresponding ship must, if possible, attack a ship in its special firing arc with its first attack."

Now, an attack is possible if a ship is in arc and the defending hull zone is in LoS. If the ship is outside of attack range you may roll 0 dice, but the attack is still possible.

As such, as long as there is a valid attack target in the Onagers ignition arc it has to attack it as the first of two attacks, even if it does not role dice in the attack, the ship may even be on the other side of the board.

Correct (pending english translation)?

4 hours ago, RapidReload said:

If the ship is outside of attack range you may roll 0 dice, but the attack is still possible.

If you can’t gather any dice, the attack is cancelled. So your question seems to boil down to “Does a cancelled attack count against the two attack limit?”

If so, the Onegar would be allowed only one additional attack in the situation you outlined above. If not, it would still have two attacks.

My reading is that if an attack is cancelled, then it is not performed. Ergo, you would still have both attacks available.

You still have both attacks available, yes.