Rift Assault and Salvo

By Solaris00, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

My question is simple, can a salvo attack assign a token to the opponents ship under the special rule "the attacker can spend 1 die with any icon to assign an objective token to the defender"? I believe it can, because the salvo attack is treated as an attack, I just wanted to be sure.

I am playing around with a fleet that would have three ships with the salvo token, combined with an IF Pelta. The idea for this objective would be that IF guarantees a hit on the salvo attack and assuming the other criteria is met I could spend that hit to place an objective token on the other ship. That ship then moves in and then I strike with my ship turning a die to a double (Being second player) and getting a victory token. Really, the idea is to use the combo of Salvo, 6 activation's and IF to farm tokens.

Thanks in advance.

It is an attack.

You can do your normal attack choices, unless explicitly stated otherwise.

(ie, you cannot add dice... but it doesn’t exclude spending)

Oooh, that's a sneaky plan. I like it. 😁

Talking of Rift Assault; am I right in thinking you can both place an Objective Token and score from it with the same attack (it's the Hyperspace Migration problem again)? Both Special Rules happen at the same time, so can you resolve one (spend a die to place an Objective Token) and then the other (change a second die to a face to remove the Objective Token and score)?

I had a game with this on Monday (fun objective in a RitR game) and fortunately it never came up (Interdictor+Gozantis vs CR90s so we weren't often rolling more than one die), but it could come up again...

2 hours ago, Grumbleduke said:

Talking of Rift Assault; am I right in thinking you can both place an Objective Token and score from it with the same attack (it's the Hyperspace Migration problem again)? Both Special Rules happen at the same time, so can you resolve one (spend a die to place an Objective Token) and then the other (change a second die to a face to remove the Objective Token and score)?

I had a game with this on Monday (fun objective in a RitR game) and fortunately it never came up (Interdictor+Gozantis vs CR90s so we weren't often rolling more than one die), but it could come up again...

The way it's worded, yes.