I heard somewhere that if another player did not use a resource or support card (such as Helicarrier) on their turn that if I went after them I could ask them to use that card and gain the benefits for my turn (exhausting their card). Is this true and if so what limitations are there? Does it work with cards such as Super Soldier Serum or Web Shooter?
Using another players in play support
45 minutes ago, Silverburst3 said:I heard somewhere that if another player did not use a resource or support card (such as Helicarrier) on their turn that if I went after them I could ask them to use that card and gain the benefits for my turn (exhausting their card). Is this true and if so what limitations are there? Does it work with cards such as Super Soldier Serum or Web Shooter?
On your turn, you can ask another player to take an action. That means that they can use any ability that has Action : at the start. This works whether they go before or after you. The limitation is that the player's ID has to be in the right mode if the Action is a Hero or Alter-Ego action, and they need to be able to pay the costs themself. Super-soldier Serum and Web Shooter are not Action abilities, they are Resource abilities, so can not be activated for you. However, if the player was playing some other Action with a cost when invited to, they could make use of either of those cards to pay for it.
Does that help?
Another clarification: If you’re playing a different hero, for example, you can use Carol Danvers’s Alter-Ego Action if she doesn’t, but you can’t use Captain Marvel’s Hero Action. The former targets “any player” and the latter only allows Captain Marvel herself to draw.
On 1/7/2020 at 8:08 PM, SpiderMana said:Another clarification: If you’re playing a different hero, for example, you can use Carol Danvers’s Alter-Ego Action if she doesn’t, but you can’t use Captain Marvel’s Hero Action. The former targets “any player” and the latter only allows Captain Marvel herself to draw.
In case it’s non-obvious, nor can they play a card from their hand, only cards already in play.
18 minutes ago, Derrault said:In case it’s non-obvious, nor can they play a card from their hand, only cards already in play.
They can play an event card that has an action from their hand.
1 hour ago, Derrault said:In case it’s non-obvious, nor can they play a card from their hand, only cards already in play.
1 hour ago, Janaka said:They can play an event card that has an action from their hand.
Yeah events can generally be played at any time, unless they have a trigger, in which case any time that trigger is met. Turns don't matter for those.
9 hours ago, Janaka said:They can play an event card that has an action from their hand.
I missed that it included event cards before! Nice (although it’s never been a solo concern)
Just to be clear, since answers are scattered around a bit.
What you can do on other player's turns:
- Play an Event card with an Action ability - (like hit the Villain with a Spinning Web Kick, to defeat the Villain so that the active player's Repulsor Blast can do maximum damage to the next stage of the Villain)
- Use an Action ability on a card in play that you control - (like activate Avenger's Mansion to give the active player an additional card, or use Powered Gauntlets to knock Tough off an enemy)
What you can't do on other player's turns:
- Play an upgrade, ally or support card
- Use a basic power, like ATK, THW or REC
- Use a Resource ability, like Super Soldier Serum
- Activate the Action ability on an encounter card (you can only do Action abilities on cards you control)
2 hours ago, jonboyjon1990 said:What you can't do on other player's turns:
- Use a Resource ability, like Super Soldier Serum
Pretty sure you can do this. Rules Reference p14, "A Resource Ability can be triggered anytime a player who controls the ability is generating resources to pay for a cost."
If your out-of-turn Action has a cost you are paying for, you can use your Resource Ability to pay for it.
Edited by DatonKallandor51 minutes ago, DatonKallandor said:Pretty sure you can do this. Rules Reference p14, "A Resource Ability can be triggered anytime a player who controls the ability is generating resources to pay for a cost."
If your out-of-turn Action has a cost you are paying for, you can use your Resource Ability to pay for it.
Correct - sorry i wasn't clear - what I meant was that inactive player can't use a Resource ability to pay for an active player's cost.
4 hours ago, jonboyjon1990 said:Correct - sorry i wasn't clear - what I meant was that inactive player can't use a Resource ability to pay for an active player's cost.
Which is why Helicarrier is worded the way it is.